Thursday, October 30, 2008

Build -A- Bear Workshop and a Giveaway!

I am a long term fan of Build-A-Bear Workshop. The "bear" above is a Valentine's Day gift I received from my hubby a couple of years ago. He picked my bunny, stuffed her, dressed and named her. And that is what makes Build-A-Bear Workshop so special. Your child (or husband) can choose the animal that they like - and there are tons of choices. You can choose to dress or not to dress him/her and you can even add a message in your own voice that can play when you squeeze the animal. I mean really, what is not to love about Build -A-Bear Workshop?

Build-A-Bear Workshop partnered with MomSelect and sent me a stuffed animal. Mekhi quickly grabbed it and that baby is his. But luckily, I have something for you.

Build-A-Bear Workshop
sent a $10.00 gift card for me to giveaway to one of my readers. All you have to do is comment on this post. Please be sure to leave an email so I can contact you if you win. This contest is open until November 7th at 9:00 pm.
Good Luck!

I am joining in on the fun with Bloggy Giveaways - there are thousands check it out!

Kiddo Kards Review and Giveaway!

When given the opportunity to review Kiddo Kards by the Family Review Network I jumped at the chance when I read this:
"The Kiddo Kards idea and products were created with love by work-at-home mom, Temre. Recognizing that our kids grow up in a world that can sometimes be tough, Temre wished there was a way she could give her daughter a tangible yet very simple reminder of how loved she is. Of course, it also had to come in a fun and colorful package that kids would love to collect as their very own and be small enough to go all of the places that kids do."
What a lovely sentiment! I had to see these cards for myself. I requested the Snuggle Stories with the tagline "Sweet dreams are sure to follow these stories all about me and my family." Mekhi and I read books together every evening before going to bed and I thought that adding Snuggle Stories to the mix would be a nice touch.

On each card in the lovely tin there is a question for the parent to answer about themselves or the child. Once the question is answered you can write the response on the back of the cards. The Kiddo Kards are a great way to spend quality time with your child. In addition to learning more about you and themselves, the cards can be used as a tool to practice those reading skills. And although Mekhi is young, I do talk to him and I can use this cards to tell him the story of our family.

I think that Kiddo Kards are appropriate for any age up to around 12. After that point your child can keep the cards and review the answers on their own. There are several varieties of Kiddo Kards, check them out on the website.

Would you like a set of Kiddo Kards? Enter my giveaway.

Here is what you need to do:

1. Go to Kiddo Kards and choose the set you want to win (yes it is winners choice!)
2. Leave a comment here with your choice - please leave your email address so that I can contact you if you win.

That's it! Contest ends on November 7th at 11:59 pm. I will chose a winner by using

Good Luck!

There are tons of other giveaways to enter at Bloggy Giveaways check it out!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Say "Boo!" to the Flu

It is that time again. As the weather changes, sniffles, sneezes and coughing abound. The common cold is everywhere but flu season is fast approaching. Say "Boo" to the Flu is a campaign to encourage flu prevention. The CDC recommends the flu vaccine for children from 6 - 18 years old. The Say "Boo" to the Flu website has information about where you can have your child vaccinated before the flu season peaks. Parents will also receive tips to prevent exposure to the flu virus all season. Take a visit to the website and see where an event is happening near you to Say "Boo!" to the Flu!

Tuesday, October 28, 2008


The one household chore that I don't like (okay, I admit, I don't like any of them) is washing clothes. When I had a housekeeper my main concern was laundry. Living alone I was able to keep the house together but laundry was another thing entirely.

Laundry remains the bane of my existence. I don't mind "doing" laundry, it is the folding and putting away of clothes that gets me every time. Having a baby compounded the problem. I had to wash the baby clothes separately. And most importantly, I needed to find a detergent that was safe on delicate baby skin. I thought about purchasing some of the "baby detergents" but they are expensive. I would buy them if I had a coupon but otherwise I left them in the store.

My problem was solved when I found All Small and Mighty Free and Clear. This product is free of perfume and dye and is the #1 recommended detergent by Dermatologists for sensitive skin. Best of all - it is affordable and can be used by the whole family! No special detergents only for baby. I really recommend All Small and Mighty, it is great if you have allergies, a new baby or just want to stay away from dyes and fragrances. If you visit the website you can also get a coupon for $1.00 off your next purchase. Try All Small and Mighty Free and Clear, you won't be disappointed!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Visit Ciao! and Win a $25.00 Apple Gift Card!

I know that I like to read reviews of products before I make purchases. I read everything I can about travel destinations, electronic equipment, restaurants, spas - you name it and I have read a review about it. Reading first hand testimony from someone that has purchased an item or used a service is helpful for me. If you are like me and enjoy reading and writing reviews there is a new shopping community called Ciao that provides you with an opportunity to review products that you use and get paid to do it!

I reviewed my Flip camera (I heart my Flip!). It was quick and easy to write a 120 word post. The bonus? Getting paid for it. That's right, will pay you $1.00 per post. If you enjoy writing reviews why not get paid for it? You can review anything from movies to beauty products, electronic equipment, and travel sites. You just browse the categories until you find one you like or go there with a particular product in mind that you would like to review. is sponsoring a giveaway of a $25.00 Apple gift card for Cutie Booty Reviews!
To enter this giveaway, first visit Ciao!:

Then, follow this easy, three-step process:
Step 1) Search a product you'd like to review (e.g. iPod Touch)
Step 2) Select a product, click on "write a review" and share your experience using this product, as well as rating, with the Ciao community of shoppers. Be sure to do a full-length review!

Step 3) Join the Ciao community, start connecting with other shoppers and earn money for your reviews ($1 per qualified review). You can even upload video reviews!

Finally, once you have done at least one full-length product review (at least 120 of your own words), post your Ciao username and a link to your review in the comments section on this blog post.
Note: this contest is also open to current members, just be sure to include a link to a new review to qualify for this giveaway.

This contest will ends on Thursday, November 6th at 5:00 p.m and is party of the Bloggy Giveaway Carnival where you have an opportunity to win over a thousand great prizes .

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Cool Baby Clothes

I have to admit that I sometimes envy women that have daughters, primarily because of one very superficial reason - clothes. Enter any clothing shop and you are sure to find an enormous selection for precious little girls. For the little boys you have the usual - jeans, khakis, button down shirts, and sweatsuits. Nothing really exciting. So you can imagine my happiness when the Family Review Network gave me the opportunity to review some cool baby clothes.

You see that shirt that Mekhi is wearing? It says REBEL. This shirt was clearly made for my little boy. I caught him in all of his rebellious glory messing around witht the cd player in his room. Of course he knows better but rebel that he is played with it anyway.

The t-shirt is made of 100% cotton and is clearly quality material. It has a nice weight to the fabric and did not shrink in the wash. The one thing that I would suggest when purchasing is to go up a size because the clothes seem to run a bit small. Mekhi is wearing a 18-24 month shirt and despite him being small for his age it is a little bit snug. Since the weather is cooling off I think this shirt is perfect for wearing under a heavier open top for the layering effect.

Uncommonly Cute has a great selection of t-shirts and onesies for both the little girls and boys in your life. All of the tops have trendy sayings and according to the site "Elmo is my homeboy" is the most popular seller. Check out Uncommonly Cute for trendy clothing for the little rockstar in your life.

Thursday, October 23, 2008

Holgate Blocks

My son is at the age when everything is fascinating. When I least expect it he surprises me with the things that he says or does. I know that he is at the age when he understands much more than he is able to verbalize - we are similar that way, I understand several foreign languages but am not able to speak them well. One of things that I work on with him is improving his vocabulary by reading to him, showing him letters and even letting him watch some educational tv.

When choosing toys for him I also focus on educational value. I look for things that will help him with vocabulary and motor skill development. And because of the numerous toy recalls I keep my eyes peeled for toys that are not made in China and/or from plastic.

Holgate Blocks are exactly the type of toy that I look for. These blocks are made in America and are wooden from a renewable source. In addition to being able to build towers or structures with the blocks, each one has numbers, letters and animals on it. While we build or tear down structures I point to the blocks and work with Mekhi to identify the symbol or animal. He has great fun and I am content in knowing that he is learning through play. The picture above truly captures his delight with the blocks. Even when playing alone he will build towers, knock them down, throw the blocks (not far) and put them pack in their package.

I highly recommend this toy. It reminds me of toys of yesteryear that did not have all the bells and whistles. Simple learning toys that require your child to use their imagination. If your child is from one to three I think she will enjoy learning and playing with the blocks as much as Mekhi does. Stop by Holgate Blocks and add this fun toy to your holiday list today!

Monday, October 20, 2008

1st Comes Love

These delightful cards are just a sampling of the beautiful work of Roopal of 1st Comes Love. Roopal is a mother of 2 and decided to start designing invitations and announcements when she realized it was more than just a hobby and something she truly enjoyed doing.

1st Comes Love specializes in custom event invitations and announcements. In addition to customization, you can choose from the gallery of ready-made pieces. If you go with this option font color and paper color changes are complimentary.

One other option that I think is particularly exceptional is the ability to have the envelopes sent out prior to receipt of that cards - this way you can address the envelopes in advance and only need to place the cards in them. If you are not interested in addressing envelopes, 1st Comes Love also provides an option of computer calligraphy and mailing out the invitations/announcements for you for an additional charge. I love this option when I was a new mother the last thing I wanted to do was address my announcement cards. Hence they are still sitting around here somewhere never mailed out!

The card stock used is excellent quality and the designs are very unique. The pairing of the color envelopes with the cards completely complimented the designs. Each design was slightly glossy which is visually appealing. I really liked the irridescent card stock and I personally would choose that for my stationary needs.

1st Comes Love is currently launching the holiday designs. I have included two of the options in the photo above. 1st Comes Love is offering a 15% discount for all Cutie Booty readers, just enter Promo code: Holiday 08 in the special instruction section of the order form.

Sunday, October 19, 2008

Clorox Anywhere anti-allergen spray

Mom Central has given me the opportunity to review another product – Clorox Anywhere Anti-Allergen Spray. I was especially excited about this because the people of the male gender in my household both have allergies. And while the verdict is still out on whether Mekhi is allergic to indoor allergens I would rather be safe than sorry.

Enter Clorox Anywhere allergen spray. This product can be used on soft fabrics and helps reduce indoor allergens including cat dander, dog dander and dust mite matter up to 90 percent. And although there are no animals here I have to admit that I do not dust as frequently as I should, okay I admit it – I never dust. Well, there was that one time. Let’s move on.

This product is great because it doesn’t have any dyes or scents for that matter and the best part is I can use it on Mekhi’s toys. Many of his stuffed animals say surface wash only and adding Clorox Anywhere to the mix can only help matters. If you are interested in learning more you can visit the Clorox Anywhere website.

Wednesday, October 1, 2008

Poof! Be Gone or Out Out Dark Spot.

I love receiving emails from Mom Central because they always have great products. I generally choose the ones that are actually appropriate for me as a mother of a 1 year son. This time around I was giving the opportunity to try Spot Shot. As any mom can tell you having a toddler run around is risky business. Of course childproofing is absolutely necessary but I am talking about snacks. I have been known to give my boy snacks anywhere it is convenient – including the living room. As a result there have been some spills and stains that frankly I haven’t had the time or energy to clean up.

When offered the opportunity to try Spot Shot - a carpet stain and odor remover I jumped at the chance to try it out. When the package arrived I had no idea what it was and at first I thought it was a gift because of the pretty blue shredded paper in the box. Imagine my disappointment when I saw it was Spot Shot. But I decided to try it immediately because what did I have to lose?

I immediately went to a stain on my very light carpet, sprayed and dabbed with a clean cloth as instructed. Remember I mentioned my disappointment that I didn’t receive a gift in the mail? Well I was WRONG! Spot Shot is a gift. It works immediately. Seriously, this stuff is like insta-magic carpet stain remover!

I have been raving like a lunatic about Spot Shot. I noticed a stain at my girlfriend’s house the other day. Here is our conversation.

Me: I see you have a stain there. Do you want me to remove it?
GF: Uh, what are you the cleaning lady now?
Me; No, but I do have Spot Shot. I carry in the car just in case of spills.
GF: Ah, no. Maybe next time.
Me: It really works and I will feel a sense of accomplishment. Puleezzze let me clean it!
GF: Okay.

And I pull out my trusty Spot Shot, squirt, dab and presto, chango- like magic it disappears. I look over at my girlfriend and she says “You’ve convinced me, I am adding that to my shopping list!”

True story. Yes, I am a little geeky but having it in my car is essential with a little one that can spill things at any moment. Give Spot Shot a try. I think you will be a happy camper too!