Monday, April 20, 2009

Mojo Mom

For me the word "Mojo" brings with it connotations of magic, a special aura. So of course the title "Mojo Moms" by Amy Tiemann, PhD, immediately caught my attention. According to Dr. Tiemann, a Mommy Mojo is:
"The feeling you get when you are at the top of your game, juggling the many facets of your life and keeping your own needs in balance with family needs. It is the joyous feeling o fbecoming yourself and liking that peroson. It is the ability to speak, be heard, and make a difference in the world. It is power; it is being a force to be reckoned with."

I don't know about you but I want some of that Mojo. In the book Dr. Tiemann helps mothers to understand that yes motherhood is important but we were individuals with goals, dreams and aspirations beyond the definition of Motherhood. One of my biggest lessons from the book is that I need to let go of the "Guilt, Worry, and Anxiety" that I have regarding mothering and keeping it all together. It is essential that I no longed don the Super woman cape but ask for assistance and look for support from my family and circle of friends. Trying to do it all is an impossible task and being realistic about this will assist me in living a happier and healthier life.

The book also has a chapter on "Centering, Silence, and Reclaiming Your Mind Space." This is so important and I have been really remise in taking care of myself in this manner. A spoke to a friend yesterday that religiously takes a bath every night and refuses to be disturbed during this daily ritual. I know and encourage others to take these moments but I have yet to incorporate it into my life.

If I had to categorize Mojo Mom I would say it is a self-help book that should be required reading for all mothers. This book is now on my list of gifts for the Mother when I attend a babyshower. I believe that Dr. Tiemann has hit a home run with this book.

Many thanks to Mother Talk for giving me the opportunity to review this book.

Friday, April 17, 2009

X-14 Mold and MIldew Cleaner

Thanks to Mom Central I had the opportunity to try out X-14 Mold and Stain Remover. This is a powerhouse cleaner. You spray it on and in a few moments stain disappear. This is perfect for cleaning my toilets. That is the one job that I hate the most - scrubbing toilets but using X-14 the cleaning is done for me. This is great since I get hard water stains and this product seriously works. The active ingredient is bleach so you have to be careful when using it. This formula is 60% higher than similar products on the market. When using X-14 be sure to keep the room well ventilated, keeping a window open and/or running a vent fan are suggested when using it.

Although I know X-14 is not a "green" product there are some jobs that I do need a really tough cleaner for and this one will be my choice. X-14 is for use on non-porous services only and works for up to two weeks. In addition to using it inside the home it can also be used outside on wasll, descks, concrete, masonry, tile roofs and plastic furniture. If you have a pool liners or a hot tub in can be used there as well. Just be sure to keep the areas well-ventilated and rinse after use.

On those occasional times that you need a really intense cleaning X-14 will do the job. I am sure I will have my bottle for a very long while because I will only be using it for limited things.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Chocolate Spa Girlfriend Giveaway!

I just wanted to tell you about an awesome Girlfriend Getaway Giveaway! A weekend at the Spa, enjoying chocolate with your girlfriends. This is a no-brainer, go and enter! Now! Here are the rules.

Contest Rules:
Tell us in 300 words or less why YOUR FRIEND deserves a Chocolate Spa Getaway Weekend. (For example has she had some extenuating circumstances, struggles, challenges, or just plain needs a break? The contest is for all women- married, single or single again). Don't forget to sign up for your special gifts below! Then COPY and PASTE your essay into an email (sorry, no attachments accepted) and send it off to us at by midnight April 17th. Winners will be announced April 24. Best of all, if your story is chosen, you get to go, too!! (See below for more details).

Win a Chocolate Spa Weekend Getaway at the Hershey Hotel from May 15-17, 2009. The Chocolate Spa Getaway Weekend includes:

- Air fare

- Limo service to and from the hotel

- A poolside room for three (3) days/two (2) nights at the Hotel Hershey in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

- Over $400 (four hundred) worth of Spa Treatments, including a Swedish Massage, a Facial, a Chocolate Wrap and Lunch in the Oasis- a lite lunch of salads, soups and wraps at the spa in your robe and sandals.

- Admission to the Hershey Gardens.

- Gourmet Dining
A special THANK YOU to Hershey Hotel for sponsoring dinner for both Friday and Saturday evenings.
The winners can choose from the following:

Dinner in the Hotel's renowned Circular Dining Room...

The Fountain Cafe (casual restaurant) or Room Service (includes tax & gratuity).

More Details: No cost to enter the contest. Over a $3000 value. Only one entry per person. The contest is for all women...married, single or single again. No transfer of winnings. Winners are responsible to book their own coach class flights and will be reimbursed (up to $300 per person). All entries must be submitted by midnight of April 17, 2009. The winner will be notified on April 24th, 2009.

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Leslie Patricelli Books for Babies and Toddlers

I enjoy sharing books with my readers that I enjoy with my son Mekhi. He and I read together every night and I started doing this before he was born. As a result, Mekhi loves to read. So much so that he is more apt to reach for book before many of his toys. I truly enjoy listening to him "read" his books. 

Two new books added to his collection are Baby Happy, Baby Sad and Higher, Higher both written by Leslie Patricelli.  I love the illustrations in the books and the simple dialogue. After reading the books with Mekhi a couple of times he actually knows them by heart so listening to him "read" is truly satisfying. In addition to the simple prose, there are a number of different objects in each illustration for Mekhi to identify. These books are certainly a wonderful addition to my son's library and assist me in my preparation for teaching him how to read. Yes, I know he will be two next month but I believe that it is never too early to instill a love of reading in our children.  Next year this time perhaps he will actully be a reader! 

Eggo 'Bake Shop Twists

Although I am no domestic diva, there is one thing that I really enjoy - baking. I love whipping 
up a batch of cookies or baking cakes. Unfortunatly, my schedule does not always permit me to take the time needed to make homemade goodies.  I was thrilled when I learned about Eggo Bake Shop Twists.   These pastries filled with apple or strawberry are really delicious. It only takes a little over two minutes to prepare them and you have soft pastries to enjoy with your family. 

I tried both varieties and immediately thought that they would be an excellent addition to a brunch get together in my home - yes, I was inspired to entertain - or adding these pastries to our weekend breakfast menu.  Since I am working on watching my weight, these are not everyday treats (I find having sweet things triggers my sugar addiction) but I highly recommend them for a quick, easy, tasty treat to share with family and friends. 

I must extend a big thank you to Mom Central for giving me the opportunity to try this product and indirectly encouraging me to open my home to friends for brunch! 

Friday, April 10, 2009

The Household Guide to Dying

I know the title of this book is enough to make you want to run away right? Especially if you are a mother. The thought of dying before your children are adults and can take care of themselves is horrific. Unfortunately, in The Household Guide To Dying by Debra Adelaide, this is exactly what the main character, Delia is dealing with. Delia is a writer of of a column "Dear Delia" which I would describe as the sarcastic Martha Stewart's guide to domesticity. With acerbic wit she responds to questions submitted by her readers. Along the way it is revealed that she is dying and in her proclivity for domesticity and list writing she begins writing lists. A list for her husband to care for her children, a list for the future wedding of her daughter - future as in at least 15 years down the road.

List writing seems to help Delia work through issues and Delia decided that she needs to write "The Household Guide to Dying." For Delia, there are some things that she needs to resolve head on and writing is not enough. The book explores her relationships, past history and her future. This is a bittersweet read and I am looking forward to completing it because the air of mystery is killing me. Please don't let the title fool you into thinking this is a morbid book, it is a beautifully written, worthwhile read.

Thank you to Mother Talk for the opportunity to review this book.

Monday, April 6, 2009

Wow! Wow! Wubbzy!

My son and I watched the Wow! Wow! Wubbzy! Pirates Treasure DVD and had a ball. I love the quirky characters and Mekhi is completely enchanted too. We don’t watch the show on a regular  basis so it is nice to have a DVD that we can watch at our leisure. I think that I am most impressed by the music on the DVD, all of the shows are entertaining and  teach valuable life lessons but the songs summarize the lessons of the show. 

This DVD will provide hours of entertainment for you and your child. It also includes 5 regular episodes and two new bonus shows including one that has not been released on the television series.  An additional bonus are the extra activities that we can utilize for continued enjoyment. Unfortunately for us, my son has misplaced the remote for the DVD so the extra activities will have to be unlocked when we locate the remote! Overall I enjoyed the Wow! Wow! Wubbzy Pirates Treasure DVD and certainly recommend that you add it to your collection.  Mekhi and I send a big thank you to Mom Central for giving us the opportunity to review this delightful DVD.