Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Save your memories! Hitachi Life Studio

If you are anything like me, you take tons of pictures of your loved ones. When my son was born we took so many photos and sadly, within 3 months of purchasing a new computer my hard drive died. And it took all of the photos of my son with it. Luckily I had some of the photos stored elsewhere but there are some photos that I lost completely. At that point, I recognized the importance of backing up my hard drive, no matter how expensive the computer you never know when a malfunction will occur! 

I have been previewing the Hitachi Life Studio mobile external hard drive and I love it. It has 100 GB of memory, can store 25,000 songs, 1.000 hours of video or 33,330 photos. More storage that I will ever need in this lifetime! It is also able to work with my online haunts like facebook and flickr! 

It has an unobtrusive design and it is so small that it is portable. But if you don't want to take it with you, you have the option of using a "flashdrive" love it! Although I don't use my Netbook much anymore, I certainly could utilize my external hard drive to access files that I otherwise wouldn't store on my low memory netbook. 

If you are looking for a last minute holiday gift for a friend, loved one or even yourself, you can't go wrong with the Hitachi Life Studio mobile External Harddrive! 

Thursday, December 16, 2010

Stocking Stuffers!

It is hard to believe that Christmas is only 9 days away! Although we are spending Christmas with my mom, there will be a few gifts for Mekhi when we return home. He has so much stuff that I usually give him one big gift and smaller "stocking stuffer" type things. Honestly, I could give my son a piece of ribbon and a box and he'd be content!

I was given a $25.00 gift card for Walmart to find things for his Christmas stocking. There were so many things to choose from! I hit the $5 aisle and was pleasantly surprised to find a number of toys for both boys and girls that were both practical and fun. Although there were many themed items, I decided to go for the Disney Toy Story 3 theme. For $5 I purchased a great smile kit that includes a cup and toothbrush holder with Buzz Lightyear and a toothbrush.  I also saw bath time fun and I had to get him the Soak and Slam Basketball bath set. It includes bubble bath, a hoop, mini basketballs and a sponge.  He is going to have a ball with his new bathroom supplies! This product was $10.00!

Finally I took a stroll to the DVD area where there were bins filled with $5 DVDs. I will probably bring the Veggie Tales Star Christmas with us to visit grandma and I also purchased Cats & Dogs. A total bargain! I didn't even explore the $1.00 items but with $25.00 you can make a total killing! There is something for everyone so if you are looking for stocking stuffers or last minute Christmas gifts I suggest you make a stop at your local Walmart!

Disclosure: I am a Walmart Mom and was sent a giftcard and compensated for my time to write this blog post. 

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Staples for Christmas!

I have to admit that Staples is not the first place that I turn to when I think about Christmas shopping. However, when my good friend Audrey of Mom Generations sent me a $200 giftcard to do some holiday shopping I decided to give it a whirl. Well, I have to say I was impressed! There were so many great gift ideas - from really cute camera cases to Flip cameras there was something for everyone!

I focused on things that I think people will only buy if they are not cash strapped. Things that aren't necessities but nice to have. My first pick was a transmitter for the iPod on the iPhone. In the past I've seen wired hookups to listen to music in the car but Griffin makes iTrip for iPhone or iPod and it wirelessly transmits the music to your radio. It works great - yes, I use it because on this trip the gifts were all for me! LOL

The next gift idea is the LogiTech cooling laptop desk. I always use my laptop and it has a tendency to get really hot after prolonged use. The fan is excellent because it plugs right into my USB port and it is comfortable to hold in my lap.

I also purchased a great case for my iPad made by Targus. It was the most expensive purchase but the leather case protects my iPad (from the hard wear and tear of a three year old) and it allows me to view the iPad in multiple positions. I love it!

The final purchase was really practical - ink for my printer. And the best part about buying the ink from Staples is that  you can join the rewards program and get a discount! And if you return your used cartridges you also get a discount! Love that, the gift that keeps on giving.

I've only touched the surface of what is available at Staples but check out their Holiday Center to see what other great things they have (if I didn't have an iPad the Kindle would be in this review)!

Disclosure: I received a $200 gift card from Staples to do some holiday shopping but all opinions as always are my own! 

Monday, November 29, 2010

One Last Chance to Win!

As a Sears Ambassodor I've been so happy to help spread the word about the weekly giveaways that Sears is offering. A new kitchen appliance, right in time for the holidays is the gift that keeps on giving! This week's prize is a 30 inch stainless steel slide microhood and warming lamp

The giveaway starts today and ends on Friday, December 3rd at 11:00pm EST. To get all of the details about entering this great contest click HERE!

Disclosure: As a SEARS ambassador I am compensated to spread the word about this contest. 

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Big Foot the Monster!

As the holiday season approaches I am on the lookout for gifts for my son. Somehow it is seems easier to identify gifts for girls but boys tend to be challenging. I usually shower him with books but will place a "fun" toy in the mix too.

From what I've seen, the new Fisher-Price Bigfoot the Monster Toy might be right up my son's alley. Check this toy out in action!

 Right now you can enter to win one of these toys by posting your mood on Facebook

Disclosure: I'm being compensated for spreading the word about this facebook app. 

Monday, November 22, 2010

Another Week, Another Chance to Win!

This week you have another chance to win a LG Range! Sears is giving away a 30 inch, Stainless Steel, slide in electric range. Check out the contest page for all of the details by clicking Here! This week the contest runs from today until Friday but the winner will be announced on Monday. Even the good folks at Sears deserve a day off to recoup from the Thanksgiving celebration! Good luck!

Disclosure: I'm a Sears ambassador and I'm being compensated for spreading the word about this contest.


On Saturday my family and I had the opportunity to preview Disney's newest animated feature film in 3-D, Tangled. As the mother of a preschooler I've seen the trailer for this movie numerous times (when I venture to the movies nowadays I always see children's films) and have been looking forward to seeing it.

I am a long time Disney fan and admit that I watched Disney films as an adult even when I wasn't a parent. Tangled is the story of Rapunzel, you know they one with the really long hair? Well, she is a feisty protagonist in this film!

Sheltered from the world by her "mother" she is armed and ready to see the world. This film did not disappoint. I truly enjoyed the 3-D animation and the musical score was on point.

Like most 3-D movies, my son had a hard time keeping the glasses on but he still enjoyed the film. If you have a child that is at least 5 I doubt the glasses will be an issue. My son enjoyed the music so much that at one point he asked me to get up and dance! I had to explain that we weren't at home and couldn't break out in spontaneous dancing in the theater!

This film will be released nationwide on Wednesday, November 24th and I think it is a great film to enjoy with the family before or after Thanksgiving dinner!

Monday, November 15, 2010

Win a LG range from Sears!

Just in time for the holidays this week Sears is giving away another LG freestanding range. You can get all the details about how to enter by visiting the Sears website. The contest is open until 11:00pm Friday, November 19th EST.
Good luck!

Disclosure: I'm a Sears ambassador and I'm being compensated for spreading the word about this contest.

Monday, November 8, 2010

Holiday Contest with Sears!

Once a week for the next four weeks Sears will be giving away an appliance to one lucky person that either changes their twitter or profile picture to an image that can be found Here. This week one lucky person will win a 30 inch LG Range just in time for the Thanksgiving Holidays!

Once you add this graphic to your twitter profile or change your background, be sure to follow @SearsBlueCrewHa on twitter and tweet about the contest! All of the information you need can be found Here and be sure to check back here next week when I announce the next appliance being given away!

Disclosure: I am a Sears Brand Ambassador and am being compensated for spreading the word about this contest.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

Pop On Pals

My son has a vivid imagination and loves to use it. He has collected ribbons and string from around the house and calls them his slippery snakes. He entertains himself with this stuff for hours! When Team Mom offered to send Pop On Pals for him to try out I was curious to see where his imagination would take him. Pop on Pals are small toys that have interchangeable rings so that the character can become a fireman, dancer, etc.
He has had a great time playing with the Amusement park play set. He uses the car for the roller coaster both on the play set and on any hard surface that he can roll hit. He also really likes the dragon ride. He hasn't gotten the knack of the ferris wheel yet but that is my favorite part of the playset. 

The only thing that is missing with the playset is another pal. With two pals we'd  be able to utilize the ferris wheel more effectively - you place a pal in a lever and push to make the wheel move so it'd be nice to see another pal riding the ferris wheel at the same time. Otherwise, we are happy with the toys. I'd actually like to purchase some of the vehicles that are available because I am sure that he'd love playing with them.

Disclosure: We were sent the Pop on Pals amusement park playset for review purposes and all opinions are 100% our own.

Thursday, July 8, 2010

How am I better than ever?

This question posed by Dove and Twittermoms is pretty easy to answer for me. I am now 48 pounds lighter than I was 7 months ago and I have shared my journey with the world. I feel great about my accomplishments and am actually in better physical condition than I've been in in well over a decade! I have also shared my struggle with weight and depression  so that other women can understand that they are not alone and support is out there. It is my hope that sharing my story will help others to get the proper treatment that they need and truly take care of themselves, inside and out. 

I plan on entering the Dove goFresh contest because I believe all of my hard work is deserving of a spa vacation in Sedona. Of course you can enter too but I am hoping that I win!

I wrote this blog post while participating in the TwitterMoms and Dove® gofresh™ blogging program, making me eligible to get a $25 gift card and some product. For more information on how you can participate, click here.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Rayovac Powers Your Summer Contest!

Rayovc's website at has a contest going on! To enter simply tell them how you'll power your fun this summer each day for a chance to win prizes ranging from Cameras and Bikes to Camping Supplies and a Summer Supply of Rayovac Batteries! No trick questions here! There is no correct answer to how you and your family add the Power of Fun to your summer! Must be a US resident and 18 or older at the time of entry to enter this Promotion, the Twitter Event or the Blogger Promotion.

Rayovac Powers Your Summer Twitter Event

Join Rayovac and 5MinutesForMom for a Twitter Event to support the exciting Rayovac Powers Your Summer Promotion. The Twitter Event will feature more than 20 fun giveaways from Rayovac ranging from a summer supply of Rayovac Batteries to $50 Target Gift Cards.
Rayovac Powers Your Vacation Summer Promotion Twitter Event
Date: Wednesday, June 30, 2010
Time: 7:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m. CST
Location: #rayovac
Follow: @Rayovac_Battery, @5minutesformom, @CirclePRMary

Disclosure: The first 99 bloggers to post about the contest and event will receive a prize pack.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

I love my modem!

This is a compensated review from BlogHer and Sprint

I love being connected. I believe approximately 80% of my interaction with the world is virtual. My best friends live in my computer and although we don't see each other often we communicate on a daily basis, sometimes multiple times a day. I have an pda, a laptop, a netbook and a desktop. All of these devices are connected to the Internet.

I primarily stay connected by using WiFi. My husband and I have wifi in the house and this enables me to work from any room in the house while keeping an eye on my active toddler. The only problem is that sometimes I have difficulty with the wifi connection on my laptop. There have been times when I was so frustrated because the signal wasn't working properly and my husband was not around to investigate the problem. Please don't think we have the stereotypical gender roles going on in my household, we are both pretty tech savvy but the router is in my husband's office and I respect his space.

Luckily, for the past few months problems with the Wifi have not had a negative impact on my ability to work and connect with my friends. As part of the Momspotters team at BlogHer, I was given the opportunity to try out the Sprint 3G/4G network with my own modem. Life has not been the same. Not only has having my own modem enabled me to always be connected in the home, when I am traveling (which is fairly often), I am always connected! No longer do I have to worry about paying for WiFi at the airport, at the hotel or in random places when I am on the road. If I need an Internet connection I simply connect with my modem. This year I've traveled to California, Tennessee, and New York. I always have a connection! If I want to take my son to the playground and need to catch up on some work - I have a connection! Not only do I have a connection but it is fast. I really cannot tell the difference between my wifi connection and my modem. For now, I only have experience with the 3G network, 4G is not available in my area yet but I am sure that when it is available the connection will be even faster!

My personal modem is truly my favorite bit of technology. And it was so simple to use. It is basically plug and play. I uploaded the software, plugged the modem into my USB port and with one click - connected! I love it.

I have had a few quirks with my modem. I've found that when my computer goes to sleep it takes several attempts for me to get the program working. Sometimes I have to remove the modem from the USB port and reattach it. This really isn't that big of a deal and if I wasn't such a lazy person I am sure I could get some tech assistance from customer service to alleviate it. Clearly, it is not bothering me enough to take the extra step of placing a call or sending an email.

The folks at Sprint have graciously decided to share the love with one of my readers. One of you will be the winner of a $300.00 Visa gift card. All you have to do is answer this question:
How would the power of the Sprint Now Network keep you organized and connected?

This contest is open from 3/10/10 -3/31/10 you can read the full contest rules HERE.

And if you'd like to increase your chances of winning, read the other bloggers reviews and enter their contests visit the special offers page.