Saturday, December 17, 2011

No Fuss For Holiday Parties!

Earlier this year I visited the Bentonville Walmart headquarters with the Walmart moms.  When we arrived we were treated to a sampling of holiday treats. All of which were perfectly suited for those holiday parties that you may want to have but can't find the time (between baking and cooking for the BIG meals) to cook for. 

image provided by Walmart

These Tyson wings in various flavors are sure to be a hit but since I'm not a meat-eater I can't comment on the taste. I can say that my son eats Tyson and enjoys it so I can only assume that the wings are great quality too. I've actually served them at family get togethers and most people went back for seconds so I suppose that is a great endorsement! 

One of the things available at Walmart that I CAN speak about from personal experience are the cheesecakes. And not just any cheesecakes, but a variety pack of cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory restaurant! 

Can you say YUMMY! When two cheesecakes arrived at my house I was sure that someone was trying to foil my holiday get fit plans but was totally surprised to learn the cheesecake came from Walmart! I was a good girl and left the cheesecake intake but will be bringing both to a dessert party I'm attending this evening. I believe in indulging but I left the cheesecake in the freezer until I could share it with friends! 

Walmart has these easy options available for you this holiday season. Make life simple, pick some up on your next trip! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and have been compensated for this blog post but as usual all opinions are my own! 

Monday, December 5, 2011

Holiday Stocking Stuffers Haul!

I love the holiday season! The baking, cooking and time with family is always joyful but I am especially pleased that this year, thanks to Walmart I've been able to be a blessing in the lives of others. For my final donation of the year, I was challenged to purchase stocking stuffers with $25 and of course I'm donating them. I visited the wish list for the Atlanta Day Shelter for Women and Children and was pleased to see that they needed toiletry items for the gifts they prepared for their clients. I went to Walmart with $25 in hand and just see what I was able to purchase! 

I truly believe that the holidays are about giving and it has been my pleasure to have so many opportunities to give this season because of Walmart. Not only am I doing something for others but I am instilling in my son the idea that giving to others is also a part of the holiday spirit. He shops with me and when I tell them the items are not for us it is always a teachable moment. I know as he gets older he will appreciate having the ability to give to others too. Thank you Walmart! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and was compensated for my time to prepare this video and blog post but as usual all opinions are my own. 

Sunday, December 4, 2011

Walmart Introduces Shoppy Cat

You may be asking - what in the world is Shoppy Cat? I wondered the same thing so when Walmart gave me the opportunity to try it out and provide feedback, I said why not? Shoppy Cat is a new facebook app that assists you in purchasing gifts for family, friends, whoever! If a person is on your facebook friend and has the app, Shoppy Cat will give you a list of things that the individual might enjoy as a gift. 

Shoppy Cat utilizes the things that are listed in your profile as your interests. Obviously, the more interests a person has listed, the more recommendations Shoppy Cat provides. One of the best features in my opinion is that the gifts are not only from Walmart. I think this is a fabulous idea. It reminds me of the movie Miracle on 34th Street, Santa sent people to stores other than Macy*s! Even though the management thought it was a bad idea, it actually encouraged folks to shop at both Macy*s and the other stores. Simply ingenious! 

Shoppy Cat is currently in Beta but I think it is worth trying out! As more people sign up it will be even more effective! Happy Shopping! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart Mom and have been compensated for spreading the word about the Shoppy Cat app but as usual, all opinions are 100% my own! 

Thursday, December 1, 2011

How The Grinch Stole Christmas comes to the Fox!

Everyone is familiar with the Dr. Suess story, well everyone that is except my son Mekhi! This was a totally new experience for him because we've never actual read the story about the Whos of Whoville and The Grinch stealing Christmas. This uproarious musical was perfect for my four year old with a running time of about an hour and a half with no intermission. The singing was great, the set design was simple and true to the Dr. Suess book. 

One of my favorite aspects of the show was the audience participation and my son cheerfully laughed out loud on numerous occasions. For you to fully appreciate this, please understand that the show was at 8:00 PM and actually started about 8:20 but my son was a trooper! I highly recommend this family show but be quick! 

The show is only around for 6 days and ends on Sunday. Ticket prices start at $28.00 and it is truly a show the entire family can enjoy! 

Disclosure: I received two tickets to the show for purposes of my review but all of the opinions are 100% my own. 

Friday, October 28, 2011

Party on a Budget

I must admit that I never thought $100 would be enough to host a party for approximately 11 children and 15 adults so when given that amount by Walmart I just knew I'd be supplementing with my own money.

Well color me surprised because not only was I able to purchase all of the food, I also got all of the paper goods and party favors for $88.00 at Walmart!

As the main dish we ordered out for pizza and the cake was from another source but I could have purchased the cake at Walmart and stayed on budget too!

My favorite find was the pre-packaged party favors, we purchased bags and filled them with favors. In addition to everything for the party I was also able to get thank you cards.

I know exactly where I'll be shopping for my next party!

Christmas Price Match

One of the concerns during holiday shopping is purchasing an item too early and seeing it go on a dramatic sale. This year, Walmart is adopting the Christmas price guarantee. If you make a purchase from November 1st until Christmas and you see the price reduced at Walmart or another store - you will receive a refund or a price match! Check out this video for more specifics - the only departments excluded are food and grocery and of course, Black Friday sales....

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and have been compensated for writing this post but as usual all opinions are my own.

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Holiday Cookies

Mekhi and I made cookies using Wilton recipes, cookie cutters and I attempted to make decorating bags. Ahem. The cookies were a simple sugar cookie that I let set overnight after baking.

We mostly used pumpkin shapes because I didn't want to get too complicated with the decorating.

The following day I made a meringue based icing and colored it orange. I kept it simple.

I did try to make pastry decorators but that was a disaster. I couldn't get it right. Overall I'm happy with the final outcome and perhaps I will have my girlfriend teach me decorating techniques in the future.

The cookies were delicious and we took them with us to a Falloween party where they were enjoyed by all!

Disclosure: I'm a Walmart mom and was provided with compensation for this post.

Friday, October 21, 2011

Walmart is Bringing Back Layaway - Video!

And here is my video explaining Walmart's new Layaway! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and I've been compensated for spreading the word about this program. As usual all opinions are my own.

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Walmart is Bringing Back Layaway!

The holiday season is fast approaching and it is no secret that we are in the midst of difficult financial times. I have heard anecdotal stories that although the holiday season is supposed to be the happiest time of the year, it is the time when people suffer from the highest rate of depression. It makes sense when you think about it, in an effort to make friends and family happy we have a tendency to over spend and have to deal with the repercussions at the beginning of the new year. 

I remember as a child I would join the Christmas Club at the bank to save money for the holiday season and I also can recall lay-a-way which virtually keeps you from overspending because you pay for items that might be pricey over time. I am happy to announce that Walmart is bringing back Lay-A-Way for the holiday season! 

It begins on October 17th and you have until December 16th to pick up and pay for your purchases. With a $5 service charge and a minimum $50 total purchase (each item $15 or more)  this is going to help countless families this year! Layaway is available in toys, electronics and the jewelry departments. If you have your eye on a few holiday gifts and want to pay from them over time, layaway is just for you!

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and I've been compensated for writing this post but as usual all opinions are my own. 

Friday, September 30, 2011

Essie's Got A Brand New Bag!

I've blogged about essie in the past and shared my long standing love for this nail polish.  Well, for Fall essie has some great colors with names inspired by handbags. There are six new colors in the collection, my favorite is Carry On, a magnetic mulberry merlot. Love it! But all of the colors with the exception of power clutch (a green that I'm not sure will look great with my complexion) I will be rocking this Fall. 

Although I'm unable to afford to purchase actual handbags in all of these colors, having the nailcolors will provide me with diversity in color and serve as a great "accessory" on a daily basis. This entire collection is available at your local Walmart, I'd love to see what you choose as your favorite color! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and was sent the essie Fall collection and provided with compensation for this post.

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Crayola and Back to School

My four year is extremely creative. He loves to draw and is now beginning to learn his letters. He was thrilled to try out the new Crayola Dry Erase crayons and activity center. You can see what he creativity garnered! 

He is intently working on his masterpiece in this photo and here is his finished product! We used the Crayola Dry Erase Crayons and enjoyed being able to wipe and start a new drawing if he was unhappy with what he'd done. 

In addition to the 3D effect, we also have a dry erase board that he loves which is filled with activities. I let him go at his own pace and choose what he wants to do on any given day. This is just a supplement for what he is learning in Pre-K and I've found that he does much more when I don't push him and let him tell me when he wants to practice letters or just draw. You can see more of the Crayola dry erase in action by checking out this video. 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and was sent the Crayola dry erase line to review and compensated for my time. As usual all opinions are 100% my own. 

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Sun-kissed glow without the sun! Video

It is summertime and I love makeup but it is just too hot for foundation, powder, etc. So, I make things simple. I use concealer and bronzer to give my face a sunkissed glow without using heavy makeup or worst, sitting out in the sun! I tried Neutrogena's bronzer with blush, perfect!

This is a perfect look for summer and I don't have to worry about my makeup melting off in the heat!

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and have been compensated for this post but as usual all opinions are my own. 

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Calling all dog lovers!

I am a dog lover.  When I was four and five I used to ride my grandfather's great dane Zorba like a horse and we both loved it! My granddaddy always had a dog and I even gave him one as a father's day gift one year. It wasn't until I was 17 that I became a dog owner too. My mom and I adopted a Chow Chow puppy that we named Ling Ling and she was the love of our life. Although Ling Ling is no longer with us my love for dogs still remains and when my son is old enough to care for a dog I will get one too. Seems like dog lovers run in my family, he will always ask to "pet the doggies" we see dog owners walking their dogs!

Although I am not a dog owner now, the one thing I remember is the importance of choosing the correct dog food. Ling Ling was very picky but once we found a food she loved we stuck with it. If you are a dog owner, will you please complete this quick five question survey to help determine what you look for when you are shopping for dog food? 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and have been compensated for getting the word out about this survey. 

Thursday, June 30, 2011

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Strips -Video Post

Thanks to Walmart I had the opportunity to try Sally Hansen's Salon Effects Nail strips. When I used to have my nails done on a regular basis I was always intrigued by Minx nails, nail strips in metallic and exotic designs. I didn't have it done but I did admire the nails of women that I saw having them put on in the salon. 

Recently Sally Hansen released the Salon Effects nail strips that are very similar to minx nails. No polish, simply prep your nails and apply the strips. I chose the color "raise a glass" which is a metallic gold. It is simple, elegant and classy but if I were feeling a bit more adventurous there are wild colors available in the line. I believe the pricing was somewhere in the $8 range and if indeed my manicure lasts 10 days it is certainly worth the price. Minx nails run about $40 in the salon I used to go to.

I found the application of the strips to be fairly easy. There is a bit of a learning curve because you don't want to crinkle the strips and although I was nervous the application was quick. I think the more practice I have the better I will get at application.

I would certainly recommend trying Sally Hansen Salon Effects. When you want an interesting nail design on a budget, these work wonders. One day I will try something on the wild side but for now, I am extremely happy with my metallic gold manicure. I know I'll be trying this product again.

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and have been compensated for my time and provided with a product sample for review. 

Gas Rollback!

Yesterday Walmart announced a gas rollback from June 29- September 30, 2011. For these 90 days you will be able to save 10 cents per gallon on gas at participating Murphy USA and Walmart gas stations! What a relieve, with the gas prices finally going down, the additional 10 cent rollback will make a big difference.  I don't know about you but the gas prices have certainly been killing my pockets! 

To get the discounted pricing, all you have to do is utilize a Walmart re-loadable giftcard, reloadable Walmart money card or Walmart credit card. This discount is effective in the following states: 


New Mexico
North Carolina
South Carolina

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and I have been compensated to help spread the word about this rollback. 

Friday, June 24, 2011

30 Days to Sanity

I had the opportunity to test drive the 30 Days to Sanity program by Stephanie Marston. This online webinar is designed to help all of us - Moms and women to live more focused lives. I must say that I found the interactive program extremely helpful and it was very in depth. I liked having the opportunity to pick up where I left off and go at my own pace. 

I have to admit that I probably would need to keep at least a year subscription because my life is insane and I actually need more than 30 days to complete the program! Some days I'd forget, others I was just too busy. But mainly I have learned that it is important for me to take time for me. Sometimes that happens in the context of the online webinar but I also think I help maintain my personal sanity by exercising, taking long baths in my whirlpool tub and even just reading a book simply for entertainment. 

Overall, I'd recommend Stephanie Marston's program for anyone working on getting their lives in order. And really, the 30 Days to Sanity Program. You can thank me later! t is all of is. So, I say make the investment in yourself and sign up!

Disclosure: I am participating in a Mom Central blog tour and received complimentary access to this program and compensation for my participation. 

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

TruGreen Lawn Care

I don't have a green thumb and I don't particularly care for being outside in the heat caring for my lawn, shrubs and bushes. But I am envious of some of my neighbors yards that look like they should be in landscaping magazine (if such a thing exists)!  I do know that lawns need care beyond simply cutting the grass and so I've decided to try to follow some of the lawn and landscape tips suggested by TruGreen:

Tips to prepare your yard for the summer
  1. Clear dead leaves and debris to give room for new spring growth
  2. Prune dead branches from trees and shrubs
  3. Apply mulch around plants to help hold in moisture and prevent weeds in landscape beds
  4. To ensure healthy turf, be sure to mow your lawn at the correct height and always use a sharp blade to prevent tearing of the leaf blades
  5. Use fertilizer to encourage lawn, tree and shrub growth after a challenging winter
  6. Water your lawn one to two inches a week and be careful not to over water, which can lead to disease activity. Make sure to follow local water restrictions.

Since I'm personally not an expert, I'm going to bring in TruGreen to give my lawn a few treatments and I guess I should at the very least water my yard! This Georgia heat is burning up the grass that I have. Hopefully the combination of treatments and water will help my lawn along. 

TruGreen is going beyond lawncare and has introduced tree and shrub care. They are currently holding a nationwide contest to win a $25,000 Mastercard Reward card! You can enter to win at
At the end of the summer I'll let you know how my lawn is coming along, I'm pessimistically optimistic! LOL

Disclosure: I've been provided with a few lawn treatments in exchange for writing this post. Honestly, when I used TruGreen in the past, I've been very pleased with the results so I truly do have high hopes for my lawn! As usual my opinions are 100% my own. 

Monday, May 30, 2011

Dyson New DC35 Digital Slim Vacuum - Review

I've introduced this vacuum, given you a behind the scenes look at it and now I will tell you about my experience. 
I actually really love this vacuum! By no means is it a replacement for the heavy duty vacuum that I need for my entire 2800 square foot home that is mostly carpeted, however it is EXCELLENT for the jobs that I need it to do. 

  • Lightweight - this vacuum is amazing for doing my stairs. It is virtually impossible for me to vacuum my stairs with my heavier model but this one does wonders! It is lightweight, easy to maneuver and I really like the changeable nozzles. 
  • Reach - In addition to being lightweight, the long nozzle and add-ons give me the ability to reach high places. I especially like to use it clean my air filters, blades on my ceiling fans and this leads me to my number one favorite aspect

I apologize for the darkness of my photo (ahem, my mom is not much of a photographer) but I needed assistance on this shoot. You can't tell from this picture but I am suctioning up a spider that is perched way up high in my bathroom. The DC35 has become my go to tool for killing bugs! I have a virtual forest in my backyard and the bugs get in my house. To date I've used it to handle at least 3 bugs! I keep the DC35 out in my bathroom so I can run and get it easily if I need to get bugs. Maybe not the most conventional use but I have to say that with it's lightweight, long reach and great suction action it is perfect for this job! 

Now you may wonder if there is anything I don't like about the DC35? I'd have to say the only thing could be improved is the length of the charge. It will only stayed charged for about 15 minutes of use so be sure to keep it on the charger if you want to ensure it has power when you want to kill those bugs! 

Overall, I really like the DC35 and it is a welcome addition to my household appliances!

Disclosure: I am a Walmart Mom and was given the DC35 for review and compensated for my time to write about my experience. 

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

Behind the Scenes with Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Vacuum

A few weeks back I gave an intro to the Dyson DC35. If you missed it here are a few facts:

-  Powered by the Dyson digital motor, the vacuum has anti-static carbon fiber brushes to remove fine dust particles from hard floors.

-  Dyson’s patented Root Cyclone™ technology – condensed to fit into the machine spins dust and dirt out of the air using centrifugal force, so there’s no loses of suction.

-  A dual power mode allows up to 15 minutes of constant suction.  For stubborn dirt, a button can trigger 6 minutes of higher suction.

- A 26 inch, lightweight aluminum wand attaches directly to the machine to convert it from a handheld to a slim vacuum cleaner.

I also have a behind the scenes video about the DC35 that you don't want to miss!

Disclosure: I am a participant in the Walmart Mom program and have been compensated for my time to write this post. However, all opinions are 100% my own. 

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Mother's Day!

I'm generally not one to do a Mother's Day guide. Personally, I think Mother's should be celebrated every day because we have the most difficult job in the world - it is also the mist rewarding, but difficult nonetheless. This year, as a Walmart mom I've been given the opportunity to highlight some things available at Walmart which are sure to make moms out there happy( well I know for sure I'd be happy to receive these gifts)!

I'm going to start with a simple gift but one I know I'd appreciate. Between running around chasing my son and running to keep in shape, my feet get a serious workout. There is nothing I love more than taking a relaxing bath and sadly it happens far less frequently than I would like.

A perfect gift for me would be a gift basket filled with my favorite me time essentials and a coupon for weekly alone time for at least one bath in my whirlpool tub. Just the thought of those jets on my tense muscles makes me swoon.

At Walmart a basket filled with goodies can be made and include Dove I love this stuff!

A nice bath puff

And some furry slippers to ease my feet into after my relaxing bath. All of this things are conveniently located on one aisle specifically set up for Mother's Day!

The total cost for this gift? Under $20.00 but the gift of bubbles and me time? Priceless!

Disclosure: I'm a Walmart mom and have been compensated to write this post but all opines are 100% my own!
Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Monday, April 25, 2011

Dyson New DC35 Digital Slim Vacuum

I can't begin to tell you how long I've coveted a Dyson! And I am a lucky lady because as a Walmart mom I've been sent the Dyson DC35 Digital Slim Vacuum! It is easily converted to a hand held vacuum and it is great for use in areas like the kitchen and stairs (I always have trouble with the stairs!). Today I'm not going to review my vacuum but I am going to let one of the engineers from Dyson share some information with you about this little powerhouse! It is available at Walmart now if you want one but of course you can wait to read my review first! 

Disclosure: I am an official Walmart Mom. Follow me and my fellowWalmart Moms as we share our reviews! Walmart has provided me with product (the Dyson) in return for my time & efforts to create this post. My participation in this program is voluntary and my opinions are my own, always have been, always will be.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Sprout Babyfood!

Although Mekhi is way past baby food age, when he was young I made his food or I only fed him organic jar food. And although my son is close to four, in the fairly recent past I've used left over jars of babyfood in my cooking. You know how applesauce is used in recipes as a substitute for oils? Well, one day I was making muffins and had run out of applesauce. And that is when I discovered the magic of babyfood! So, when I can, I use babyfood in some of my recipes because it is organic, wholesome and if it is good enough for a baby it is good enough for me! 

I have to tell you that I WISH Sprout organic baby food was on the market when my son was younger. This baby food is special, it was created by chef Taylor Florence (foodies out there may know him from Food Network). And the flavor in this baby food is amazing. What? Of course I had to taste it! And cook with it too! LOL

In addition to being full of flavor, one of the great things about these pouches is that they are resealable. And the food can be used within three days of opening so no waste! Inventive, right? And the final reason I am impressed by Sprout Baby food is because they have partnered with TerraCycle and encourage parents to return the empty pouches to TerraCycle for UpCycling. They recycle the pouches and make items like bibs, splat mats and diaper bags. TerraCycle also donates $.02 to various charitable organizations for each returned pouch!

So, to all of my friends who are new/soon to be moms (and there are almost more of you than I can count) I highly recommend Sprout. Try it! And let me know what you think! 

Disclosure: I am a Walmart mom and was compensated for my time to write this post, I was also provided with Sprout products to try. 

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Opening Day Disney Store at Perimeter Mall!

I’ve come to expect big things from Disney and the new interactive Disney store at Perimeter Mall brings the magic of Disney to the Atlanta area! Today Mekhi and I had the pleasure of experiencing the new store before tomorrow’s opening day. To say we were impressed is an understatement! Before I get too caught up let me give you the information about tomorrow’s opening:

Where: Disney Store @ Perimeter Mall (lower level)
            4400 Ashford- Dunwoody Road
            Atlanta, GA 30346

Time: 10:00 AM Disney Store Opening Celebration led by Jodi Benson - voice of Arial
       The  First 250 people will receive Mickey Ears!

So we toured the store today and it was amazing! It is truly interactive. The front of the store is divided one side is geared toward boys and the other girls. But believe me, the girls and boys in attendance played on both sides and were not stuck in traditional gender roles! The highlight of the boys side is the Cars Ridemakerz! Visitors have a chance to design their own cars using with choices of body’s from the movie cars and then assemble! The basic car is $41 but you can add remote control and the price is $58. A Disney store employee will help you “trick” out your car!

On the other side of the store is Cinderella’s castle. The highlight there is the magic mirror. You simply wave a wand from one of the Disney princesses and she “magically” appears. My son had a great time bringing Princess Tiana to life!

In the back of the store there is a theater where you can choose clips to play from favorite Disney movies and shows. And weekly there will be scheduled events held in the theater like coloring, trivia, story time and even parades! 

And you can’t miss the Disney Playhouse which has a tower of stuffed characters, noise making knobs that turn the carousel in the sky and even a tunnel.

My words are not doing the Disney experience justice. You have to see it for yourself. And there is merchandise for everyone. I admit that I never stepped into a Disney store in a mall before today because I thought the prices would be outrageous. I was so surprised by the affordability! There are things available at every price point so although I will walk in the store knowing my son is likely to want something, I can spend a couple of dollars and make him happy (no exaggeration, literally a couple of dollars)!

If you can, visit tomorrow. If not, April 9th is the big Grand Opening and Mickey and Minnie will be in attendance! The Disney store will be one of my go to destinations with my son because he truly enjoyed the Magic!

Disclosure: I was provided with a gift bag for attending the press event but all opinions are 100% my own.


Monday, March 28, 2011

Delitefuls Seafood Meals

Although I try to cook things from scratch, lately I haven’t been eating very well and have been going the quick meal route. When I found out about the new Delitefuls meals, as corny as it sounds, I was “delighted”! I am a pescatarian - meaning that I don’t eat meat, with the exception of fish. And since the deliteful meals are low-calorie, high protein and seafood, I was very excited about having a healthy meal prospect for lunch or dinner. Another plus? No preservatives!

So, with gusto I tried out the variety of meals - Shrimp Bowtie Scampi, Salmon Florentine Alfredo, Swai Caribbean BBQ, Tilapia Tango Mango and Cod Mediterranean Medly.  After carefully taste tasting each of the meals (which are quite easy to cook, in a bag from 4-5 minutes in the microwave) I have to admit, I was not impressed. As a matter of fact, of all the meals, I only like the Shrimp Bowtie Scampi.

The other meals were either too spicy, too sweet or just not good. And to let you know how serious I am about this, I didn’t finish my meals! If you don’t know me, I am a girl who will eat just about anything if it is part of my diet. But I just could not finish these meals.

Your palate may be different from mine and you may want to give these meals a try. With prices averaging about $5.48 for two servings it is worth a try. I’m sticking to the Shrimp. It will always be a good go to option for me!

Disclosure: Compensation and product were provided by Walmart for my time and effort to participate. All opinions are 100% my own.

3M Natural View Screen Protector

When the Apple iPhone4 was released I was extremely excited about the new phone. And although I had to wait a couple of months before purchasing it, I have to say that it certainly was worth the wait! As the mom of a busy 3 year old I have to keep my phone protected. I've found a great sassy phone cover to protect it and I was need of a screen protector. For the past couple of weeks I've tried out the 3M Natural view Screen Protector.

Two proctectors are included in the package and it is pretty easy to apply. You simply clean your screen, remove the film from the protector and apply to your phone. The included applicator helps to remove the air bubbles that are likely to form when you apply the protector. 

Overall I have to say that I like the 3M protector. I was particularly impressed with the thickness of the film and ease of application. I've used other protectors in the past and they've been flimsy in comparison to 3M. The thickness really made a difference when applying it to my phone. With my old 3G I had to immediately use both films in the package (can't remember the brand) because it was so difficult to apply. 

With 3M I was able to remove most of the air bubbles but not all of them. I don't think this should deter anyone from purchasing the product. It is virtually impossible to remove all air bubbles during the application process. I am happy with 3M and am confident that my screen will be protected from the sticky fingers of my 3 year old! 

Disclosure: I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of 3M and received a Natural View Screen Protector to facilitate my review and a gift certificate to thank me for taking the time to participate.

Friday, February 18, 2011

Dannon Small Steps

I've been a lifelong fan of Dannon yogurt. As a kid my mom would always buy Dannon yogurt. Although my son is a finicky eater I do try to get him to eat yogurt which he will do occasionally. Although I fight with him about food, exercise is something that is a staple in our house. My son has been my biggest cheerleader during my weight loss journey and after losing 50 pounds I still maintain my healthy lifestyle.  If I'm sitting on the couch, my son (who is 3.5) will encourage me to do Zumba on the Wii and we dance for exercise. 

From January 23 - February 28, Dannon encourages you to live a healthier lifestyle with their "Small Steps to a Better You" program, while giving you the chance to win free groceries for a week, month or even a year! By entering the UPC code found under the barcode of any Dannon product at you have four daily chances to win instantly (Free means of entry is also available at 

What you could win:
  • Three (3) Grand Prizes: free groceries for a year, valued at $7,800.
  • Fifty (50) First Prizes: free groceries for a month, valued at $550.
  • One hundred (100) Second Prizes: will win free groceries for a week, valued at $150. 

I hope you consider adding some "small steps" to healthy living in your life and enter the contest! 

I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of Dannon and received a coupon and gift card to thank me for taking the time to participate

Monday, January 31, 2011

Essie Nail Polish

I am a long time fan of Essie nail polish. The top polish in this photo is called Ballet Slipper and for years, YEARS, it was my go to shade. Those were the years when I was young, single and childless. Having my nails done weekly was not a treat but mandatory. Oh, those were the days! Not that I don't appreciate being a parent,  however the days of having my nails professionally done are few and far between. That is why I am so happy that Essie products are now being carried in Walmart. Walmart! 

I have access to my old fav, Ballet Slipper and some new favs too, I like Wicked for the winter months and am currently wearing it on my toes. 

 I know I don't have the prettiest feet in the world but you must admit Wicked makes them look better! LOL When I was on the Disney Dream Cruise I treated myself to a spa pedicure and brought along my Essie nailpolish. We all deserve a little pampering! My nail technician immediately recognized the color as Wicked! When I let her know that it is now available at Walmart she was ecstatic because the spa doesn't carry it anymore.  

Another thing that endears me to Essie is the fact that  essie nail polish is 3-free; contains no formaldehyde, DBP or toluene. And, essie is not tested on animals! 

I think the best way to see the colors is in video, so check out this video I made featuring Essie products!

Disclosure: I am a Walmart Mom and received the Essie products, I've been compensated for my time to write this blog post and make the video. But as usual, all of my opinions are my own!