Sunday, December 21, 2008

Mobile Mommy

As a mom I have to stay connected. My phone is a lifeline to the world and I need it to to be my personal assistant. I keep my calender, phone numbers, email addresses, you name it I keep it on my cell phone. I know that I am not alone. So, I am constantly on the lookout for the next best thing in mobile phone technology.

MomCentral alerted me to some great news for all of you PC users out there. Windows Mobile phones are now available. What is that? Well, these phones enable you to easily integrate your PC and telephone. Want that great music on your PC downloaded to your phone? No problem. Great pictures? You are covered. Easy email access, a camera, your calender -check, check and check. These great phones have everything you need to keep a busy Mom on track. Take a look at this beauty. This Samsung touch smart phone is just one of many Windows Mobile phones. Take a visit to the website and see everything they have to offer.

Friday, December 19, 2008

Do You Love Your Veggies Mom?


If you are a veggie lover? Are you interested in growing your own vegetables and working with your community? Then you are the perfect entrant for the Hidden Valley Salad Dressings 'Love Your Veggies" Mom Retreat!

10 Lucky moms that are true vegetable advocates will be chosen to attend the Mom Retreat. The winners will be selected based on their commitment to eat well for themselves, their family and the community and having an interest in engaging kids in ways to increase vegetable consumption.

The prize is fabulous!
2 days of classes, cooking demonstrations, and tastings
Personal instruction from Chef Smit
Round trip airfare and hotel accomodations for 3 days and two nights in Chicago, IL.
Dinner at Chef Smiths restaurant, Table Fifty-Two
Meeting the children of Chef Smiths foundation, Common Threads
A Spa Visit
$5000 prize money to start or maintain a community vegetable garden.

Do you want to enter? Visit Love Your Veggies. Thank you Mom Central for this valuable information!

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

HP Magic Giveaway entry for Living In Theory - How I Make a Diffference

In both my private and professional life, making a difference has been a driving force, from my work with AmeriCorps helping “at risk” youth obtain conflict resolution and peer mediation skills - to the work I have done in support of formerly incarcerated individuals obtaining higher education and everything in between, making a difference has been the most satisfying element of my life.

My personal commitment to service is reflected in my participation in community service ranging from participation in fundraising for the Revlon Run/Walk for Women’s cancers to serving as a mentor for young people in the Directions for Our Youth program. As a senior at Spelman College I received a community service award for my involvement in Big Brothers/Big Sisters Atlanta, tutoring children in the Gyamatata dance program, and the development and implementation of Chrysalis, a rites of passage program for girls. During my graduate study I was a member of the Speakers Bureau at the Whitman-Walker Clinic in Washington D.C. and spoke with community groups about HIV/AIDS prevention. I have been a volunteer women’s workshop facilitator at GMHC, one of the largest HIV/AIDS service organizations in New York City. I've also been a member of the Speakers Bureau for the Nassau County Coalition Against Domestic Violence.

During my service with AmeriCorps, I coordinator of the program at Morehouse College and managed Project Safety Net at two area middle schools. Project Safety Net incorporated conflict resolution classes into the curriculum to assist children in making positive choices when confronted with conflict.

Upon completing my Masters degree, I obtained an International Training in Women and Development Fellowship and volunteered as the National Program Assistant with the National Office of the Planned Parenthood Association of South Africa (PPASA) in Johannesburg, South Africa. In this position I evaluated their Community Based Distribution (of Condoms) and Adolescent reproductive health programs.

As the Director of Policy for the New York AIDS Coalition, a coalition of over 100 HIV/AIDS service organizations - I advocated government officials on the city, state, and federal level for increased funding for HIV/AIDS in New York. In this capacity I conducted legislative briefings, provided testimony at governmental hearings, monitored legislation regarding HIV/AIDS on all levels of government, and presented workshops at national conferences.

I have held leadership roles in various coalitions including the New York City HIV/AIDS Communities of Color, the Harm Reduction Taskforce, and the New York City HIV Women’s Collaborative. As a result of my advocacy work, in 2003 I received a citation from the New York City Council.

While a policy analyst at the HIV Law Project I managed the volunteer peer educators program, coordinated the LawTAP advocacy training program for women with HIV/AIDS, and engaged in community organizing activities and worked with a number of collaborative efforts on New York City policy issues regarding people infected/affected by HIV/AIDS.

As a consultant, I have been the interim Executive Director for the Student Sponsorship Program, a non-profit organization based in South Africa that provides access to private school education, mentoring, and scholarships for academically gifted previously disadvantaged children. I've also work with the non-profit College and Community Fellowship assisting formerly incarcerated women attain higher education and leadership skills.

Currently, I am the State Director for The Reach Out and Read Program, an early literacy program that "prescribes a book" at every pediatric well-child visit for children from 0 -5 years of age. As the mother of a toddler this work is extremely fulfilling for me. It enables me to positively impact the lives of children and spend more time with my son.

During my five months as a blogger I've challenge my readers to make a difference. I participated in the Donors Choose Bloggers Challenge, asked people to get out and vote, raised awareness about World AIDS Day, Breast Cancer, and Poverty. Making a difference is ingrained in me and I am compelled to encourage others.

My husband and I are both entrepreneurs and if I win I will be keeping the HP Mini so that I can continue to work and build my business while keeping up with my busy toddler around the house. My husband is a youth empowerment motivational speaker and travels extensively. I am not sure how he has been able to manage for the past 3 years without a laptop but with a new baby and a new home in the same year our priorities have been elsewhere.

I will donate the majority of the equipment to the Atlanta Day Shelter for Women and Children. This mission of this shelter is
"to ease the burden of homelessness for women and children by providing basic and daily necessities while respecting their human dignity. Each year, the professional counselors, staff, and volunteers have helped over 6,000 women and children move towards more independent and productive lifestyles. Services include providing food, clothing, toiletries, diapers/formula, laundry/shower facilities, phones, job counseling, self-esteem classes, and child immunizations."

The shelter serves as the community service project for my mother's group and twice a year we donate clothing and toiletries for the women and children. I cannot think of a greater gift then providing the shelter with additional computers to help women find jobs and obtain training to ready them for the workforce. The entertainment package can be used for the children.

I am sure that this post is much longer than most but I wanted to make it clear that my life has been about service and I truly believe in the work of the Atlanta Day Shelter for Women and Children. I would love to spread some HP Magic their way.

Thank you Sugar at Living in Theory for the opportunity!

Monday, December 15, 2008

HP Magic Giveaway

There are 50 bloggers that have been given the opportunity to spread some holiday cheer this season by giving away $6000 worth of HP products. Included in this booty are several computers and I for one would love to be a winner. One of the caveats of the contest on Stop, Drop and Blog is that we have to share the booty with others. Of course this is easy and a no-brainer for me.

New computer equipment for my husband and I would be wonderful. We both run home-based businesses and really need laptops. I can use a HP Mini 1000 around the house to keep up with things as I watch my busy toddler. My husband truly needs a laptop - in his line of work empowering young people through motivational speaking he is on the road usually 3 times a week (at least). I truly do not know how he has made it this long without a laptop but since we have been blessed with a new home and a new baby all in the same year it is not hard to understand how the laptop has fallen down on our priority list.

The rest of the booty which includes a fabulous touchscreen PC would be donated to the Atlanta Women's Day Shelter. Woman that are homeless have a safe haven for themselves and their children as they search for jobs, gain skills and acquire clothing at this not-for-profit facility. The *magic* of this contest is in giving to such a wonderful program and providing needed computer and entertainment equipment for the women and their children to use.

You too can enter the giveway here. I am hoping for some holiday luck this season!

Sunday, December 14, 2008

I Like to Move It!


gloria hippo Pictures, Images and PhotosHello! You may know me, I am Gloria aka Renée. Yes, that is me and I am sure you have seen me busy busting some moves. Need a reminder? Check me out twisting my hips and shaking the Earth in my video. My best moves can be seen around 1:34 but I am sure that you will enjoy the whole thing.



Clearly being a "big" girl I have no problem "moving it" but it is time for change. In my former life I was an aerobics instructor and generally stayed in shape. I was fit for my wedding, pregnant 2 months later but unfortunately lost the baby and a fallopian tube. I admit I was depressed and turned to food for comfort but became overjoyed when I became pregnant 5 months later. With a new attitude I started belly dancing, yoga, aerobics and water aerobics to stay in shape. Clearly very enthusiastic about fitness! As luck would have it, ending up on bedrest kept me off my feet and my exercise routine went out the window.

Fortunately the rest was just what I needed, my blessing arrived and all was well. Nursing helped me shed some pounds and I felt great. I started exercising earlier this year but after a medical problem stopped and haven't been back to the gym since April. My schedule as a work at home mom can get hectic and the gym just doesn't make the cut AND I am still paying fees!

After reading success stories of people losing 30+ pounds using the Wii and Wii Fit I know this is the way to go. With the Wii I can do all of my old fitness routines - step, running, and strength training. As a child I *was* the Hula champion (and it is very clear from the video that I still have my moves -bellydancing kept my hips in rotation), so I look forward to adding that to the mix. The idea of getting fit and having fun, in the comfort of my own home, on my own schedule is incredible!

All of the hard (and fun) work with the Wii will pay off because it will prepare me for the best role - a physically fit and healthy mother for my toddler. I can't think of a greater role for me to play!

I hope that my desire and need for a Wii and Wii Fit are evident - Mile High Mommas and Los Angelista are is having contests that I hope to win. Wish me luck! If I win I will post a picture of the real me moving it! An after photo of course, I have already graced you by moving in all of my rotundness.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Loking for a Special Christmast Gift?


Martha Stewart has teamed up with M&M's brand to create some crafty gifts for Christmas. Personalize M&M's in your special way. Did you know that you can now upload photos to your M&M's? You can also add your favorite holiday greeting. Once you've done perhaps try your hand at making an ornament featuring your M&Ms as the star. Or you can make pretty gift bags to give to family and friends. Check out all of Martha's great ideas at http://www.mymms.com/.

Be sure to visit right away so that you can make the special gifts in time for the holidays.

I will be placing my order today!

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Avon Winner!

Congratulations to entrant #14 Valerie! She is the winner of the Avon pampering package. Enjoy!

Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Turbo Tax's America's Cutest Last-Minute Tax Deduction Contest

TurboTax®’s second annual nationwide search for America’s Cutest Last-Minute Tax Deduction has launched!

Parents or legal guardians can go to www.CutestTaxDeduction.com and submit a photo of their newest “last-minute” tax deduction. One lucky baby, born between Dec. 1-31, 2008, will win a United States savings bond worth $5,000 (up to $10,000 upon maturity). In addition to the possible tax credits and deductions a new child may bring, who would have thought a December baby could be worth so much?

Meet Last Year’s Winner: Last year, Baby Owen won the honor of being voted America’s Cutest Last-Minute Tax Deduction. To see an update on Owen, check out the TurboTax video.


If your little tax-deduction does not qualify for the contest here are a few tips that will help you during tax season:

  • Any new baby in 2008 could deliver a $1,000 child tax credit. This is a gift that keeps on giving until they turn 17.
  • Be sure to file a new W-4 form with your employer to claim an additional withholding "allowance which may help boost your take-home pay.
  • There's also a tax credit, worth as much $11,650 in 2008, to help offset the cost of adopting a child.


Tis' the Season and I have a giveaway!

I have 3 cute onesies to giveaway. If you or someone you know has a baby the can fit size 6 months all you have to do is leave a comment.

If you want additional entries subscribe to my feed, post my button on your sidebar or tweet this giveaway. This contest is open until December 11th at 6:00pm. It is open to U.S. addresses only. Good Luck!

Flirty Girl! Yes, you!


The Family Review Network gave me the opportunity to try out the Flirty Girl Fitness DVDs. Ladies, pull out your inner diva (okay, your inner stripper) and get ready to dance! Yes, I said prepare your stripper moves. The Flirty Girl concept is based on taking the Stripper Moves out of the club and into your home for fitness and fun.

The whole set-up was too cute. I was sent a boa, keychain, box (to hold my DVDs) and two sets of DVDs. My first move was to whip out the boa to do a little pre-DVD flirty. Unfortunately that didn't go over too well. My husband was on his way to a meeting and my boa had seen better days. Feathers were flying everywhere and it was clear that Ms. Boa was going to have to stay on the shelf - I could only imagine the mess after a workout!

But that little mishap did not deter me. The real test was the workout. I pulled out the dancing portions to try and do some moves. I actually had a great time. The DVDs were reminiscent of dance classes and since I enjoy dancing I thought that was a nice touch. The tutorial before actually executing the dance should be helpful for everyone. I believe that it will take a few sessions of the review before actually perfecting the workout but with all of the repetitions you will get it eventually. If you are not a dancer you may get a little frustrated but this is not a DVD that you are just going to pick up and be ready to do all the moves like a professional and that is part of the fun.

The real value in my opinion lies in the floor work. I really enjoyed the toning exercises and can completely see how many women have experienced success with this workout. One of the other outstanding things about this package is the meal planning. You are given 10 days of meal plans to implement with the workout. This was great and I found the recipes very helpful, I am always on the lookout for new recipes especially for breakfast. This was really a bonus for me!

Overall, if you are looking for a fun workout that will make you smile and get you moving, I think Flirty Girl is a good choice.

Baby Einstein

Baby Einstein is a Mom owned company that is celebrating it's ten-year anniversary. I am sure that all of you have heard about Baby Einstein. In my opinion it is one of the leaders in baby centered products. Although prior to this review opportunity I did not try out Baby Einstein, I clearly understand why mothers trust this brand.

Mom Central and Baby Einstein sent me a copy of the 10th Anniversary Baby Mozart DVD, the Baby Einstein Touch and Feel board book and the Lullaby Classics CD. I have to admit I was a little skeptical about Mekhi and the DVD because I've always believed the products were targeted at younger viewers.

I was pleasantly surprised that by using the DVD to spend quality time together Mekhi indeed had a great experience. He quickly pointed out objects that he identified and named them. I helped him along if there were things that he was not familiar with.

We both enjoyed the DVD very much, and the Board Book is certainly a big hit in our household. Mekhi loves to read and he really enjoys farm animals so the book was perfect. I use the DVD when I want Mekhi to have quiet time and it seems to have a calming effect on him.

Overall I think that utilizing the Baby Einstein products during the holiday season (really anytime) are a great way to bond with your child and I highly recommend them.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Reading is Fundamental!


I am a staunch advocate of early learning and reading. I have been reading to Mekhi since he was 3 months old and I encourage all parents to start reading with their child early. So of course when MotherTalk gave me the opportunity to review James Patterson's new site Read Kiddo Read I said yes immediately!

James Patterson is a well known author of many books including my personal favs - Kiss the Girls and Along Came A Spider. His site Read Kiddo Read is a great resource for parents looking to enhance their child's library. He recommends books by age and also provides links for places to obtain the book. I think my favorite aspect of the site is the ability to search for the book at your local library! Love that!

Here is a link to a brief video of James Patterson discussing his newest book Cross Country and Read Kiddo Read with Al Roker - I love both of these men and think you will enjoy watching.

Read Kiddo Read is a resource that I absolutely recommend when you are looking for books for your child. I personally am always on the look out for new books for Mekhi and I am happy that James Patterson has put together this site.

Monday, December 8, 2008

A Month of Meals

I have mentioned on more than one occasion that I am not a domestic diva. I look for shorcuts to do everything. When the Family Review Network asked if I wanted to review A Month of Meals I immediately said yes. Lately I have been trying my hand at meal planning and this e-book is a great go-to resource for me. The book is more than just a listing of recipes. She includes the shopping list (a huge timesaver for me), nutrition information, and even makes room for substitutions. I cannot speak highly enough about this book.

One of the main premises of A Month of Meals is that by meal planning you will save money. I know that this is true. Planning out my meals and shopping "only" for the things I need has limited my visits to the grocery store and kept more money in my pocket. By combing A Month of Meals with coupons and you will really see the savings add up! Given the current economy I know that we could all use some help in this department.

If you want great meals, a shopping list, tips and tricks for saving money I suggest that you try out A Month of Meals!

Saturday, December 6, 2008

Winner of Wieman and Libman Giveaway!

Congratulations to Carolyn G! Entrant #39

Carolyn G said...OMG I love those granite wipes. I didn't even know they made anything liek that. I have granite in the kitchen and both bathrooms and could really use them.
Congratulations Carolyn!

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

39 

Timestamp: 2008-12-06 17:21:11 UTC

Friday, December 5, 2008

Mom Central Gift Guide - Giveaways



Mom Central has compiled a fabulous Gift Guide to meet all of your shopping needs. As a bonus there are daily prizes! To enter all you have to do is register on Mom Central, log-in, and leave a comment on the post. In addition, if you use Twitter you can tweet and get an extra entry! By sending an email to friends about the giveaway, you can earn another entry! I love Mom Central and if you are not already a member you should be! It is a great place for resources for Moms. Good Luck!

Wednesday, December 3, 2008

Pampering Anyone? Avon Products Giveaway!

I know that there are times when taking care of yourself is the last thing on your agenda. If you are a busy mom or even a college student life sometimes gets in the way of taking care of yourself. Well this holiday season I am moving at the speed of light but I have committed to taking a time out on a daily basis.

Lucky for me MomSelect and Avon have partnered to help me take these time outs. I have been sent lovely samples from the Avon Holiday Collection. To keep my feet nice and smooth during the cold months of winter I tried out the Winter Spice line. The foot soak, scrub and cream smell so good and are perfect for my at home pedicure sessions.



Foot Works Winter Spice Foot Soak

Foot Works Winter Spice Foot Scrub

Foot Works Winter Spice Moisturizing Creme


The cold days of winter can also wreak havoc on my hands. The holiday hand creams come to the rescue! These convenient purse sized tubes keep my hands moisturized wherever I go. I love them.

Holiday Hand Cream



Finally, the winter delights lip balms are quickly becoming my best friend. My lips really dry out during the winter but these lip balms make a huge difference. They smell good enough to eat and also make the perfect stocking stuffer.



Winter Delights Lip Balm



Avon products are so reasonably priced once you visit you will wonder why you haven't been shopping there. Try it for your holiday shopping. By entering the code JINGLE30 you will be entitled to free standard shipping with a $30 order when they shop with an eRepresentative. This offer expires on January 1, 2009!

GIVEAWAY
Do you like the way these products sound? Great! You have a chance to win the whole shebang! You get your first entry by writing about what you do to pamper yourself. You can get bonus entries by:

1. Subscribe to Cutie Booty Reviews - get updates so that you don't miss a giveaway!

Updates by email:

Delivered by FeedBurner



2. Place my button on your sidebar
3. Use twitter to "tweet" about this giveaway - link back here and leave your id in the comment.
4. Blog about this contest.

So there you have it! Five ways to enter. For each method please leave a separate comment! This contest is open until December 10th - I need to contact the winner by email please be sure to include your addy in your comment if you are not on blogger. This contest is open to U.S. only. The winner has 72 hours to respond or another winner will be drawn.

Monday, December 1, 2008

Spreading Holiday Cheer! $200 Target Gift Card

Tomorrow is The Secret is in the Sauce Holiday Party. A prize is being given every hour and the grand prize is a $200 Target gift card! Whoo Hoo! SITS is a comment support group that features a different blog on a daily basis. SITSa's visit and comment on the blog of the day. And whenever we see this button we comment too. If you love comments and reading blogs you need to join SITS right now!

DVD Review: Fly Me to The Moon




Fly Me to the Moon is the first animated movie created for 3D. It is the story of Nate, a young fly and two of his friends I.Q. and Scooter. They are looking for adventure and decide to accompany the astronauts on Apollo 11. They did not know that they would be traveling to the moon but are soon caught up in the wild adventures of space travel. The movie is filled with action, intrigue and history.

This film is fun for the entire family. Mekhi and I enjoyed spending quality time together watching the film. Since Mekhi is so young we did not use the 3D glasses and I really appreciated having the option to watch the film in 2-D or 3-D. The animation and the colors were spectacular. The voices of Kelly Ripa, Nicollette Sheridan (Desperate Housewives) and Christopher Llyod (Back to the Future) really added to the viewing experience.

If you are looking for a great gift for the whole family, this film will be a hit. It is available on December 2nd and is retail priced at $25.99. The purchase price includes 2 pairs of 3-D glasses.

Sunday, November 30, 2008

Win a Nokia E-91 Smartphone!

Trisha at Momdot is giving away a Nokia E-71 smartphone to one lucky entrant in her contest. She is in the running to win a year's worth of groceries from Walmart and all you have to do is vote for her to get an entry in the Nokia giveaway. There are several ways to get entries- just click the button below for more info!

Friday, November 28, 2008

Mommy Daddy Blog

My good friends Sheena and Greg of the MommyDaddy blog are having a giveaway bonanza! They have 25 prizes that they are giving away and they are also making donations to Toys for Tots! I am hoping to win the Clickfree Portable Backup 160GB External Hard Drive as part of their Three Gs For The Holidays event! Click on over right now to get in on fun giveaways, get shopping ideas from their Gift Guide, and learn how you can help children in need this holiday season!



Three Gs For The Holidays At Mommy Daddy Blog!

Winner of Refresh'n Dryer Towel

Congratulations to Diqueta! Winner of the Refresh'n Dryer Towel!

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

4 

Timestamp: 2008-11-28 22:29:31 UTC

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Wonder Mop and $100 Giveaway!


Yes, I am on a cleaning kick -what can I say? The holidays, cooking, friends and family. I have to have a clean home. And I like my floors to be immaculate. With a toddler that is apt to pick up an errant piece of -well, anything (!) off the floor and eat it I need my floor to be spotless. I have found that the key to keeping the floor really clean is a great mop. Thanks to the Family Review Network my year long search is now over.

The Libman Wonder Mop is absolutely wonderful! My favorite feature is the washable mop head, no more struggling to ensure the mop head is clean by soaking and soaking and soaking. When I am finished mopping my floors I simply remove the mop head and throw it in the washing machine. Easy peasy. I love it.

My floors love it too. My ceramic tiles have never looked so good!

Would you like to win one? Enter to win $100 worth of fabulous prizes:
Wright's Silver Cream
Perfect Planet Floor Cleaner
Weiman Furniture Wipes
Weiman Granite Wipes
Weiman Stainless Steel Wipes
Wonder mop
WonderFiber Cloth

CLICK HERE TO ENTER!

Monday, November 24, 2008

Bumkins

I have been a big fan of the Bumkins brand for awhile. Mekhi has four of the bibs and I just love them. When the Mom Bloggers Club asked me to review Bumkins it was a no-brainer. Review a brand that I already love? No problem.

Here is a little info about Bumkins from the website:
"Bumkins merchandise is only made from natural or non-toxic fabrics, such as organic cotton and our signature PVC, phthalate and BPA free waterproof material. The majority of Bumkins product offerings are manufactured in the United States, further strengthening our responsible business practices and affirming a commitment to supporting the local economy."

Did I mention I love Bumkins? The bibs have a catch pocket that comes in handy for that food that misses Mekhi's mouth. In addition to the bibs that are easily cleaned and ready for the next use, Bumkins has a nursery clothing line. This was news to me. I was blow away when my package arrived and the soft feel of the organic cotton Dr. Seuss themed coverall was amazing. I could not wait to try it on Mekhi and he eagerly obliged.

As you can see Mekhi had a grand time running around in his coveralls. I think this is the perfect outfit for him to wear on Christmas morning and for lazy days hanging around the house. The quaiity is excellent and it is so easy to get on and off that Mekhi was able to get out of it by himself!

I am now a fan of their clothing line and of course I still love the bibs. Lucky for you Bumkins currently has a promotion running that I want to tell you about.
Bumkins Grinchmas Gift and Contest! With any Bumkins Dr. Seuss Purchase receive Free Grinch Superbib and automatically be entered to win a four pack of Dr.Seuss How the Grinch Stole Christmas Ornaments! Just enter grinch08 at checkout to receive your complimentary bib.

Sunday, November 23, 2008

Wieman Cleaners $100 Giveaway!

I have mentioned that I am not a domestic diva but with Thanksgiving right around the corner I have to be prepared. I enjoy cooking and cleaning comes along with the territory. Thanks to the Family Review Network I will be using Weiman products this year. Earlier this week I cooked a nice meal of Lentil Loaf (similar to meat loaf but for vegetarians), gravy, green beans, and biscuits. A wonderful meal and of course I made a bit of a mess. This was a perfect time to try out my Weiman Cook Top Wipes and Granite Wipes for my counters. As you can see from the before and after pictures these wipes really cleaned up!
















The Cook Top wipes left my stove top streak free and did a great drop of cleaning. I have always had a hard time with the streaks on the black stove but this time the wipes were great. If you want to try them they are available at Ace Hardware, Expo Design Center, True Value and Wal-mart stores and suggested retail price is $5.49 for 30 wipes.

As you can see the granite wipes left my counter spiffy clean and you can see the reflection. I have to admit that I used the wipes before cooking and just needed a light touch-up but the shine is clear in both photos. The granite wipes are $5.49 too and available at Target, True Value and Wal-Mart Superstores.

In addition to cooking messes, having a toddler around leaves the floor a mess after mealtime. The area around the high chair is the worst. Since my son plays on the floor I look for cleaners that are all-natural and Weiman's Perfect Planet Floor Cleaner and Polish fit the bill. I love that they are free from harsh chemicals and they work well on my ceramic tiles.

I especially like that I squirt and mop with no need for a full bucket of water sloshing around. I can simply squirt clean and do the whole floor, I love it. The shine left by the polish is exceptional. The Perfect Planet Floor Cleaner and Polish are available at www.weiman.com or by phone 888.281.6400 and at select retailers including Jewel-Osco, Menards and Hannaford.

After using these products I will be looking to Weiman for my kitchen cleaning needs. And you can try them too. I have a great giveaway for one of my readers!

GIVEAWAY
$100.00 worth of cleaning products!
Wright's Silver Cream
Perfect Planet Floor Cleaner
Weiman Furniture Wipes
Weiman Granite Wipes
Weiman Stainless Steel Wipes
Wonder Mop
WonderFiber Cloth


Here's what you need to do to earn entries:

1. Tell me why you want to win this giveaway.
2. Subscribe to my blog. Current subscribers count too!
2. Blog about this giveaway and link back to this post.
3. If you are a non-blogger you can email the info about this giveaway to two friends and me.

Please leave a separate comment for each item that you have completed stating that you have done so.

Winners that I am unable to contact and don't claim their prize within 72 hours of me posting the winner will forfeit their prize and I will redraw a new winner. Please follow directions or you will be disqualified! This blessing is open to bloggers and nonbloggers alike. You have from now until December 5th at 11:59 PM to comment and be entered for a chance to win. I will randomly pick a winner. Contest open to the USA and Canada only! Thank you!

Saturday, November 22, 2008

Shop.com

Although Black Friday is the "official" first day of the holiday shopping season I am sure some of you have already started. Yes, I know the economy sucks and we are all cutting back but some shopping is going to be done. I don't know about you but I do not like shopping during holiday season. I barely like shopping any other time of the year. Unless of course it is online shopping.

I lurve online shopping. Online shopping is the best. And now, MomCentral has introduced me to the best of the best - Shop.com Think online mall. Even better - think online mall with all the sales posted, site search by store, by item. Think - online shopping nirvana! And did I mention the prizes? Oh yes, there are prizes! Every week of the holiday season they are giving away "favorite things" chosen by Shop.com users. I just entered to win a Wii (wish me luck) and next week they are giving away a flat screen tv. But that's not all - they are also giving away a cruise for two - you just need to go see for yourself. Shop.com has made it easy, click the contest button and enter to your heart's delight.

Shop.com is THE PLACE to do your online shopping. I know I will be there and I am sure the stores that you frequent are there too. Check it out, I will be shopping from the comfort of my home at Nordstroms. Where will you be shopping at Shop.com?

Friday, November 21, 2008

Mobistories - and a gift for you!!!!!!


MobiStories are virtual books for kids. When I first heard about digital books for kids I was a little wary of the whole idea. But then I realized that our children are living in a digital world and things are moving at the speed of light. Why not have illustrated books that are read aloud. Of course this is no substitute for actual reading but when mommy needs a moment or two mobistories provide an educational tool to entertain your child.

MobiStories are available for children aged 0 -10 and can be downloaded onto PC, Mac, iPhone, iPod, DVD's, MPE's, Zune, and various social networking sites. I have opened up to the idea of digital books with thoughts of Mekhi being older and having a portable DVD player to keep him entertained on our frequent flights to visit relatives and long road trips. The real test was in viewing the books.

I am very impressed. My favorite so far is Miles the Crocodile. Miles teaches colors and moods to the tune of jazz. The music is wonderful and I find myself playing the book in the background while I work. Mekhi loves music and has been literally glued to the screen when I play the book for him.

I look forward to sharing the other MobiStories with Mekhi- Salsa for Kittens and Ella the Elephant are both books with musical themes. To my surprise I really enjoy them. You should download a couple and see for yourself. Try out MobiStories by using the code BSM123A and download up to $15.00 of MobiStories books for free! I am sure that you will enjoy them as much as I do. Come back and let me know what you think!

ETA: MobiStories has excellent customer service! When I mistakenly downloaded the incorrect file for my Mac I received a response to my email within an hour! Thanks MobiStories!

Thursday, November 20, 2008

Epson Artisan 800

As a small business owner it is important for me to stay connected to the world. I receive orders online, fax, print, make copies, design promotional materials and take photos of my products. I use various machines to do each of these activities. I've wanted an all-in-one printer/fax/scanner for a long time and lucky for me, Barbara Jones of the One2One network has provided an Epson Artisan 800 for my review.

The Epson Artisan 800 is the gold standard of the all in one. I am literally amazed by everything it can do. It is Wifi and bluetooth compatible, can print with quality equal to a laser jet and can also print quality photos. I can simply pop my memory card in, review the photos, edit and print! Amazing! The 7.8 inch touch panel and easy-to-view 3.5" LCD make it so simple.

I love the smart ink feature - if I run out of black ink, the others combine to ensure I can print. The Epson Artisan 800 gives me everything I need to run a fully functioning small business right at my fingertips.

And the bonus? When I am not using the Epson Artisan 800 for business I can finally get around to printing all of the photos I have of Mekhi that I have been planning on scrapbooking! I can also scan old photos to share with friends to utilize on any one of the many social media tools I use.

I cannot brag enough about the Epson Artisan 800 and all of this goodness retails at approximately $299.00. But if you visit Epson.com you can get the Epson Artisan 800 for $229.00! Let me say that again - $229.00! I am not sure how long this deal is going to last, I suggest you get one now.

Again, I want to extend a huge thank you to Barbara Jones and Epson for giving me the opportunity to review this printer. It rocks!

Giveaways Galore!


I love Bellaziza's Favorite Things blog. They always highlight hot baby/toddler items and have awesome giveaways. This week they are giving away a Rocaro Young Sport car seat (valued at $330). The giveaway is going on until Monday, November 24th and you can get extra entries by subscribing to their newsletter. You can also enter the contest everyday. Head on over, enter and subscribe. Please let me know when you subscribe so that I can get an extra entry too!


Type A Mom is continuing the Twelve Days Of Giveaways! Today is all about Mom and they are giving away a prize package to pamper moms worth $480. This necklace and candle are just a few of the great offerings.

Tuesday, November 18, 2008

Not A Domestic Diva

I am skilled at many things but domesticity is not one of my strong points. The best thing I do domestically is cook and most days I just do what is needed to feed my son. Cleaning? What's that you say? Yes, I clean but pretty much just the requisite stuff, please don't come by my home with a white glove you will probably never return (dusting not in my vocabulary). But the most hated of all chores is laundry.

So to keep down on the number of times that I have to do laundry and also to preserve the look of my jeans I usually will wear them at least twice before washing them. I do love that fresh out of the dryer look and feel of jeans that you never quite get on the second wear. But now I have a trick. I use a Refresh'n Dryer towel. You use the towel for clothes that are lightly worn and need to be "freshened' up. The towel also comes in handy when I forget a load of laundry in the dryer and it is wrinkled. I throw the towel in, run the dryer for ten minutes and wrinkles are gone; the new jean look is back!

Refresh'n Dryer towels help you cut down on running the washing machine (saving gallons of water), taking clothes to the dry cleaners and no chemicals are used in the towel. I highly suggest using Refresh'n Dryer Towels, you will be glad that you did!

GIVEAWAY

Would you like to win one? For the first entry you can take a visit to the Refresh'n Dryer Towel site and leave a comment here telling me something about the towels.

For extra entries:
1.Subscribe to my blog so that you stay up to date with Cutie Booty Reviews !
2.Stumble this post
3.Blog about this contest

For each method of entry leave a comment.

This contest is open until November 26th at 9:00pm and is only open to U.S. addresses. I will choose a winner using randomizer. Please be sure to leave an email address in the comment (no no-reply bloggers) so that I can contact you. Good Luck!

This review is brought to you courtesy of the Family Review Network.

Saturday, November 15, 2008

One Fifth Avenue


For over 30 glorious years I have enjoyed cracking open a new book and immersing myself in the world created by the author of my latest novel. I do read books in other genres but fiction remains my favorite. When Parent Reviewers gave me a wonderful opportunity to review Candace Bushnell’s latest book “One Fifth Avenue” I was overjoyed. For those of you that don’t know (perhaps you have been living under a rock), Candace Bushnell is the author of Sex and The City, the basis of the television series and movie of the same name. And I shamefully admit that I have never read a Candace Bushnell book until now but after reading“One Fifth Avenue” I will be adding her books to my collection.

“One Fifth Avenue” is about the lives of the inhabitants of One Fifth Avenue, a tony building in New York City occupied by artistes, socialites, movie stars and wannabes. When space becomes available in the building there is a mad dash by the former and current president of the board to determine what is to be done with the apartment. The story that emerges peeks into the lives of people with old money, new money and those trying to attain their lifestyle.

I am a New Yorker and it tickled me when Ms. Bushnell referenced so many things that are classic New York. In my opinion the book read like a soap opera and although it felt like a guilty pleasure, I just could not put it down. One of the most salient aspects of the book was the prevalence of new media. Specifically, blogging, facebook and youtube. Several of the characters write blogs and with great variety – one had a naval gazing blog, another a gossip blog and yet another keep one – well I will let you read it your self to find out about that one.

“One Fifth Avenue” was a fun read and had a full range of emotions. There were some components that were predictable but overall I enjoyed the book and would certainly recommend it for those lazy days of beach vacations.

Friday, November 14, 2008

Lango -Language Immersion for children

The development of children is remarkable. I look at Mekhi now and sometimes have a hard time remembering that a mere 17 months ago he was a baby, relying on me for everything. Now he is a willful, independent boy that enjoys exploring the world. He feeds himself, drinks from a cup and soon will be potty trained. The human mind is amazing.

Learning is taking place at the speed of light. This is the perfect time to introduce another language to my son. Lango centers teach total immersion Spanish, French and Mandarin classes for children ages 18 months - 9 years. Mom Select sent me a Lango Spanish cd. I have to tell you that the lyrics are great and the music is fun to dance to. Mekhi has a ball when I play the cd for him. I am thinking of playing it during car rides so that he develops a familiarity with Spanish.

My plan is to enroll him in the classes in the new year when a center opens in our area. And at $16.00 per class, Lango is surprisingly affordable. Classes are currently conducted in California, Texas, Georgia, etc. If you are interested in having your young child learn a foreign language, Lango is a great option for you.

Thursday, November 13, 2008

Ride and Drive Chick

When approached by BlogHer to attend the BlogHer/GM Ride and Drive event I immediately said yes. Who am I to turn down an evening of driving great cars, meeting fellow bloggers and smoozing in an Atlanta hotspot? And the bonus? BlogHer is actually paying me to write a review of the experience! Cha ching!

The Meet-up was held at the Twelve Hotel in the hopping Atlantic Station. For those of you unfamiliar with Atlanta, Atlantic Station is a shopper, foodie, exhibit and people watching heaven! I venture to say there are over 100 shops and I toyed with the idea of a brief shopping detour. But the sight of the cars lined up, ready to be driven, turned my focus directly to the task at hand - test driving the best that Saturn has to offer. To really get my perspective I put together this video for your viewing pleasure.




Now that you’ve seen the Hybrid Vue and the Sky Redline I am sure you are thinking I have a preference. And of course you are correct. Given my current lifestyle the Vue has everything I am looking for in a car. I work on being green and saving natural resources (and gas money, new shoe alert) and with 32 mpg this crossover SUV is just my style. With 6 cylinders it rode like a dream and had quick acceleration. I have heard owners of other hybrids complain about the slow pickup but no worries with the Hybrid Vue, it is powerful!

Of course I had to drive the Sky roadster to feed my lust for speed that has been curtailed by mommyhood. And ladies, if you are an empty nester, childless or just have disposal income to spend on a getaway car for girls night out, then this car is for you.

After the driving, drinking ensued. With care and caution of course. The Lobby restaurant at The Twelve hotel was the perfect venue for the meet-up. It was a classy joint, okay? No loud music, dimly lit lighting and drinks that were to die for. I especially enjoyed my chocolate martini and the crab cake appetizers were divine.


The atmosphere was conducive to meeting fellow bloggers and chatting about our shared love of blogging. Mommas had babies in tow and some even brought spouses. I think we could have talked all night as we educated one another and the representatives from Saturn about new media and social networking.

When the night came to an end I left with a list of new blogs to check out, respect for Saturn and true appreciation to BlogHer for organizing the event. I can only imagine what BlogHer 09 has in store and based on the experience last night – I wouldn’t miss it for the world.

To read other perspectives of the experience click here.

Aprons are a Girl's Best Friend

What? Do you think that diamonds should replace aprons in that sentence? Well, diamonds are pretty I have to agree but aprons have utility. And I need an apron for all those times that Mekhi has food from head to toe and says "up pease." I cannot resist those eyes, his words and I end up with my clothes ruined. On the rare occasions that I cook I need to protect my clothing from the inevitable splashing of water that ensues when I become Betty Crocker reincarnate.

Lucky me, my friend Mannequin - one of the charming hostesses of the Tea Party this week - is auctioning off to the highest bidder giving away a Bella Pamela apron. I really want this Nora apron. So while I should be keeping this giveaway to myself, I am promoting the contest with the hope that Karma will shine down on me. And I will be declared winner of the giveaway (include Twisted Sister too please). You have until November 21st to enter. Just in time to don Nora for the first time on Thanksgiving. Good Luck!

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Video Phone Calls - I love Tokbox!


The majority of my family lives in the Northeast. Yes, I am a “yankee” that is becoming a Georgia peach. With a one year old son you can imagine the requests that come from grandparents, great aunts and uncles and other family members to see Mekhi’s latest “tricks.” I have a video camera that I never quite worked out and I still need to take that class on movie editing. So unless we are visiting, still photos are the best the relatives can hope for.

That is until Mom Central asked me to try out TokBox. TokBox is an online video conferencing program that enables you to stay in contact with family and friends in real time. When my son shouts "Obama!", grandma can see him. His running on those wobbly legs? She can see that too.

TokBox is so convenient – I just send an email from Tokbox to my family and friends with my user info. Once they sign up calling me is just a click away. If I am away from my computer a video message can be left for me to view later. After trying TokBox this weekend, I can tell you that it will be getting a lot of use in the Cutie Booty household.

I can just see the future – several of my family members gathered around computers watching Mekhi do his thing. Yes, you can talk to several people at once. A great utility!

The best part of all is TokBox is free! Try it out, what do you have to lose? If you are anything like me and have family in distant places, you will be glad that you did!

Tuesday, November 11, 2008

A Tea Party!


I am joining my closest bloggy friend Mannequin and attending her Tea Party. It has been so much fun hanging out with the girls: Angie, Kathleen, Naomi and Mom Most Traveled. They all are hosting great giveaways on their blogs. Be sure to check them out.

Now Mannequin, I have donned my Micky Mouse ears courtesy of Disney (and no I am not done talking about them) to join the party. My dear readers you are invited to wear you party hat for the world to see. Visit Mannequin and sign Mr. Linky to show off your hat and you will be entered to win a great prize.

The prize that I really, really, really want to win is this beautiful Bubbles bracelet and $50.00 gift certificate from Twisted Sister jewelry. Like Mannequin, I share of love for these baubles. Sadly, my love is unfulfilled since I don't have a piece of my own. I hope luck is on my side this time!
Join the fun - tea with the ladies, fun, games and prizes. Nothing could be better than that!

Monday, November 10, 2008

Simple Salutaions - A mom owned stationary store



I love to support mom owned companies and Simple Salutations is not only mom owned but quite unique! Simple Salutations is owned by two sisters, Kris and Shea. They both have sons that were born 3 months apart.

All of their designs are original. You will not see them anywhere else. Prior to doing freelance design worked for Walt Disney Feature Animation for 8 years. This girl has skills! Another really great feature of Simple Salutations is that they customize for free. Let me repeat - they customize for free!

I've chosen to share some of their holiday designs but they have a wonderful variety of designs for invitations, birth announcements, bridal showers, and birthdays. You name it they have it! I loved the samples that they sent me, they use heavy card stock and the designs are impeccable.

I highly recommend Simple Salutations for your invitation/announcement needs. And as a special for all Cutie Booty Reviews! readers you can get 10% off if you order by November 20th. Just use the code: earlybird when checking out.

Sunday, November 9, 2008

Build -A- Bear Workshop Giveaway Winner!

Congratulations!

Katelyn you are entrant number 49 and the winner of the Build-A-Bear Workshop gift card!

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

49

Timestamp: 2008-11-10 01:34:45 UTC

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Kiddo Kards Winner

Congratulations Tara! Entry number 8. You are the lucky winner of the Kiddo Kards. Thank you to all that entered the giveaway

Random Integer Generator

Here are your random numbers:

8

Timestamp: 2008-11-08 20:56:38 UTC



Juice for toddlers


Mekhi can be a picky eater. Trying to balance ensuring that he gets all of his nutrients with his proclivity to throw things he doesn't like on the floor can be challenging. So am constantly on the lookout for healthy foods that taste good. The same is true for the things that he drinks. I give him milk with his meals. If he requests a drink after meal time I generally give him water. I don't want him drinking a lot of juice because I am concerned about the sugar levels in many popular juices.

But the R.W. Knudsen Family Organic Sensible Sippers are different. They are in a smaller package then conventional juice boxes - only 4.23 fl oz per serving. This juice also has no sugar added and has 40% less calories - the mix of 50% juice and 50% water cuts down on calories. And the best part? They are certified organic! The Sensible Sippers are just the type of juice box that I can give Mekhi without worrying about empty calories! The juice boxes are Berenstain Bear themed so they are even fun to look at.

Mommy is happy but Mekhi has to enjoy the taste for this to be a score. I gave Mekhi a juice box as part of his snack and it was gone in less than five minutes! He asked me to try to get the rest of the juice out of the box and I had to laughingly tell him it was all gone.

R.W. Knudsen Family Sensible Sippers have now been added to the Cutie Booty grocery list. It is the perfect drink in the perfect portion for toddlers. It is available in apple, banana, fruit punch and mixed berry flavors. Be on the lookout for this juice in the Whole Foods grocery store!

Thanks goes to the Family Review Review network for giving me the opportunity to review this great product!

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Winner of the Ciao! Giveaway






And the winner of the $25.00 Apple Gift Card is entrant number 18 - Royal Dixie! Congratulations! She has been contacted by email.

Monday, November 3, 2008

The Wonderful World of Disney

Disney is truly wonderful! Last month I had the honor of being one of ten moms attending the 2nd Disney Mom Bloggers Mixer. It was truly a blast. Not only did I meet many of my bloggy friends that I read on a regular basis I also met a couple of new Moms and added their blogs to my reading list. What an intelligent group of women!

But on to Disney. When we arrived we were met by our driver and whisked off to the Disney Boardwalk Inn. What a great place! Here is the view from my terrace. We were within walking distance of Epcot Center and the Boardwalk had many activities, restaurants and places even discos!

After we dropped our bags off and freshened up we took a stroll to Epcot.
We grabbed a quick bite to eat and then enjoyed the Spaceship Earth Pavillion. In a word - AMAZING! The history of the Earth was told on this attraction and the figures were so life like it was scary. My immediate thoughts were about how appropriate a visit to Epcot would be for homeschooling families, fun and education all at the same time!

Next it was on to our official activities. First stop - a meet and greet with Executives from Disney and the moms that arrived later than the first group. The Cali ladies had a long trek to Florida but they made it!
photo: backrow l-r (Felicia, Michelle, Kristina, me, Mel) front row (Kimberly, Yolonda, Jennifer, Tanyetta) not pictured- Nadia

Following our cocktail party we went on to the Animal Kingdom Lodge. When you visit Disney World you have to stop there. The Animal Kingdom is a 33 acre animal reserve and includes big game. If you stay at the Lodge you can request a room overlooking the Savannah and be greeted by wild animals every morning. Just look at the beautiful goodness inside the lodge.



We were treated to a tour of the lobby of the lodge and when you visit you can arrange to have a tour too. It is truly worth touring because you get the background on many of the beautiful pieces of African Art displayed. Of course it is impossible to hear about all of it - this is the largest collection of African Art in the world outside of a museum!

After our tour we were treating to fine dining at one of the premier restaurants at Walt Disney World, Jiko - The Comfort Place. This South African themed dining experience was to die for. Having formerly lived in South Africa, I was given the honor of choosing our wines. A stellar wine from Stellenbosh was my choice. Delicious! South Africa has a large Indian population and you will find several Indian dishes on the menu. For an appetizer I had samosas. Yummy!

After a long dinner our evening ended. Well that is not exactly true. An adventurous few (myself included) of us decided to top the night off with a trip to a nightclub on the Boardwalk. We had a few laughs as we danced to some oldies and after about a half hour I drifted back to my room to dream about the adventures ahead.